The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

on January 22, 2013

My name is Susan and my little kitty here is Rosie.

014

Rosie is the Headbutting Queen

Our Story

I’d been wanting a cat companion for a long time, but it never seemed to work out. (For example, I saw what looked to be a great match at a local humane society, but another family “line jumped.” They ended up adopting her.) A friend forwarded me Rosie’s picture that she found on Craigslist. I immediately fell in love with her and contacted the rescue.

I was pleased that the rescue owner had me fill out a survey, then asked to do a brief phone interview. This was important to me as it shows they were really committed to their kitties – and finding them the right person match.

I brought Rosie home with me in June of 2011. One of the best decisions I ever made. She has been my tireless companion. She is so soft and such a sweetie. At least a dozen times a day I must tell her how beautiful, pretty and/or tiny she is, lol!

Rosie was first Rosalie, but I started calling her “Rosie” every once in a while and then it stuck. Then one day a friend asked why I was calling her “Rosie B.” I didn’t realize I was calling her Rosie B, so I said, “Well, it stands for Beatrice!'” So Rosie’s full name is Rosalita Beatrice. Sometime I call her the Bee, sometimes she is Bebe. But she is always my sweet Rosie-girl.

You may be able to see from the picture that she has a bit of smile and a cataract. There’s some speculation that she was hit by a car. My vet told me that she sustained a pretty significant blow to the left side of her head. 😦 It breaks my heart, but she has never let that get her down! She can run and jump and play with the best of them. She is feisty and fun and sweet as can be. Pet her for a second and her motor starts purring. (I like to call it “the furnace.”) She is not a ‘fraidy cat by any means, and she definitely has her favorite persons.

Rosie’s favorite toys are: the feathers on a stick, the mouse stuffed with catnip, and the string on a stick. I’ll likely do individual posts about those in the future. 🙂

Rosie was pregnant when she came to the rescue. She gave birth, got her jaw fixed up, and recuperated. Then I adopted her, hurrah!

Heartbreaking news

I mention that about her being pregnant because I’m told that is likely a factor in her (and now I’m crying) having mammary tumors. I recently discovered one under her right armpit, and then one on her belly. As soon as I found the one I made an appointment with a vet. Two vets recommended surgery. She’s going in for surgery on Wednesday, Jan. 23 at the second-opinion vet (our new vet, who we are very are happy to be with!). I am praying that they are benign (although I’m told I should prepare myself, as most are malignant). I’m also praying that they haven’t metastasized. But I am very happy with our new vet, and I know my Rosie Bee is in good hands.

Still enjoying happy times!
Rosie is the sweetest kitty I have ever had. She also has the honor of being the first girl cat I’ve had, yahoo. She has been such a blessing in my life. Prayers and purrs that her surgery goes well, and that my sweet girl doesn’t not suffer any (I’ve been through one surgery and it was a drag!). Right now she’s sitting on the ottoman, having herself a nice bath. She is quite the girly kitty, and never likes to have a hair out of place!

We have had lots of good times, me and Rosie B, and we still are! so I hope to have many more positive future entries chronicling this. 🙂

Next up, I’ll let Miss Rosie Bee introduce herself. 🙂

5 responses to “

  1. Rene and gang says:

    Hello Rosie, nice to see that you now have a blog! 🙂

  2. Bob says:

    Rosie is a cutie pie. I’ll be wishing her the best during her surgery!!!

    • Roberta says:

      What a touching story about Rosie. My eyes leaked reading about her. She has been through so much and so blessed to have found you. Our babies give us unconditional love. I hope and pray for the best tomorrow.

  3. Connie says:

    even one heat cycle can up the chances of that type of cancer. It is heart breaking how many people still don’t get that message and they think they have to have them go through a heat cycle.. 😦

    So sorry to hear Rosie has to go through this, but so happy she has you to go through it with her! I shall purr for her best possible outcome.

  4. Brenda, Boots & Ozzie says:

    Nice to meet you!! We are purraying for the best possible outcome for Rosie’s surgery. We will check back and see how things went.

    Brenda, Boots & Ozzie

Leave a Reply

