The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Surgery talk with the vet

on January 23, 2013

I met with the vet this afternoon. Rosie had two mammary tumors. The big one by her armpit wasn’t a mammary tumor, but it was a “very aggressive” cancer. I’m hoping to learn more when the biopsy results come back.

Dr. Tom (vet) said Rosie would be pretty sore, especially by her armpit (front right leg). He had to cut through a lot to remove the tumor.  He had to cut out some muscle, hence the super-soreness she’ll be dealing with. She was doped up pretty good when I picked her up. I let her out of her carrier and she’s been trying to be her usual inquisitive self – although she’s weaving around like a drunken sailor. I’ve been trying to get her to sit still. I think maybe after she does a check of everything she’ll settle down. She used her box, which is good. I was worried she’s not be able to with her current balance problem!

Her belly is shaved. She’s got a good amount of stitches (for the armpit-area incisions) and staples on the other two areas. My poor little Bebe. 😦 I hope she can sleep good tonight, so her body will start to heal.

I’m still worried about her, but I think the worst is over. Whew!

3 responses to “Surgery talk with the vet

  1. Rumblepurr says:

    Sending BIG purrs to little Rosie and to you!

  2. I’m so glad to hear that surgery went well! I’m sure she will be sore for a little while, but I’ll pray for a quick and painless recovery for her. She is beautiful (I went down a couple of posts to see her picture)! 🙂

  3. everycat says:

    Hello Rosie B! What a lovely girl you are! We just saw you mentioned on the Cat Blogosphere and dropped by to say Hello! We are so sorry that you have had to have such a big surgery but we can tell that your Mummy will look after you and love you all you need and more! We are sending you both lots of rumbly purrs and love

    Gerry & Mungo

    PS: To Mummy Susan, don’t be scared to ask the vet for more pain relief meds for Rosie if you think she needs them 🙂

Leave a Reply

