The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Rosie update – Day 1 post-op

on January 25, 2013

Rosie was doing better today. I felt so bad for her last night; she was pretty doped up and moved around like a little drunk kitty. I can only imagine how she felt. 😦 She has a cataract on her one eye, but the other pupil was HUGE! My poor muffin. I was so happy to see her this morning – her pupil was a normal size, she seemed a bit more lively, and she was ready with some headbutts.

She didn’t eat this morning, but thankfully my  mom stopped by a couple times to check on her. Mom told me that Rosie did end up munching on some food, so that was good.

(Thank you! to everyone who had suggestions about the food! I got some chicken and Rosie loved that. I also heated up some of her canned food, and she responded to that very well, too. I appreciate the tips!)

Tonight was a bit eventful. Rosie didn’t really eat, which had me a bit concerned. Then I pulled out some rotisserie chicken and she has some of that, so I was relieved. After that she took her pain pill like a champ and moseyed off into one of her sitting corners. I kept an eye on her as she seemed to be doing some grooming – I didn’t want her to disrupt any of the stitches or staples, but it seemed okay.

Then she got up to move and ahhh! A little pool of blood! I couldn’t figure out if she’d busted a stitch or not – she wasn’t took keen on me poking around. I did see blood – not a lot, but enough – on her tummy. A quick trip to the vet and we learned that she had some fluid accumulation (not unusual) that has seeped out of the stitched. Our awesome vet cleaned Rosie up and put a little glue on her and voila! She was all patched up.

After all the excitement of the day, I’m a little worn out. But I was able to snap a tiny glimpse of Rosie’s staples. She has both stitches (by her armpit) and staples (on her belly). Hopefully this weekend I can get a snapshot of her whole underside; it’s pretty impressive.

staples

Some of Rosie’s staples

(I like the purple dot on her – it reminds me of those plastic surgery shows where they mark people up before they give them facelifts or tummy tucks, lol.)

I’m happy to say she is now comfortably nestled under the table by my feet. I hope we both get a good, solid night’s sleep tonight. I’m looking forward to this weekend. I think we’ll both spend a lot of time on the couch in front of the tv. Maybe there will be a Cook’s Country marathon on! LOL

138

I love this picture of Rosie. This was from last Saturday, after our first visit with the awesome new vet.

 

7 responses to “Rosie update – Day 1 post-op

  1. Hang in there, Ms Rosie. Eat a little bit, OK? Your mom will feel better about things, even if you really aren’t that hungry.

    To Mom: You’ll likely need to keep an eye on those staples. Billy White Shoes had a bunch of staples helping hold his incision together, and they started working loose pretty quickly. (I suspect Billy was helping them work loose, although I never caught him at it) Word of warning, FWIW.

  2. Everycat says:

    Rosie Bee, we are so pleased that you ate some food and it’s great that your Mum had some rotisserie chicken to hand. You have trained her very well. Please keep eating and please leave those staples alone, we know they must be a bit uncomfortable but they will soon be out.

    Luff & purrs
    Gerry & Mungo

  3. Rene S says:

    Aw, Rosie stitches! 🙂 I’m glad she’s eating.

  4. Brenda, Boots & Ozzie says:

    Get lots of rest Rosie so you can get well soon!!

    Wishing you all the best!!

  5. Karen Jo says:

    I am glad that Rosie is eating a bit. I hope you both get all the rest you need and have a wonderful weekend together. All four kitties here are purring up a storm for Rosie to get well soon.

Leave a Reply

