The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

My precious baby girl

on April 6, 2013

First, thank you for all your lovely comments, prayers and thoughts. I truly appreciate them.

It’s taken me a long time to write this post. Sadly, my Rosie’s cancer has come back. I would like to note that she was a champ, an absolute champ, at the vet’s office. And my heart breaks how, when she was done being poked and prodded, I took her in my arms and she just collapsed, like a heavy pancake. Just flattened out. My poor baby girl.

The vet, Dr. Awesome, was wonderful as always. I can’t say enough for how kind and compassionate he and his staff are. I appreciate that they are very honest, but also deliver the less-than-good news with the utmost kindness. I think this is a gift that few people have, and anyone who goes there is lucky.

We discussed options. I’m going to start crying really hard again, so I’ll keep it brief: surgery does NOT seem like the best option at all. It would be pretty invasive – much more invasive than her last surgery – and the cancer she has is almost guaranteed to come back. Right now I’m just keeping her comfortable. Eventually, I’ll have to let her go. I’m praying she’ll go peacefully in her sleep, but…I’m certainly not going to let my girl be in pain.

I just fed her and she only ate about a quarter of what she usually eats, so that has me so upset. I’m definitely going to get a rotisserie chicken later today or tomorrow morning.

I’ve had pets my entire life but Rosie is just so special. She’s comforted me through many, many difficult times. I feel so blessed to have her, and I feel so extraordinarily blessed to have her love.

Still, my heart breaks that my poor baby girl is going through this. Every day with her has been a gift, and these days now are especially precious.

Thank you again for you kind thoughts; I appreciate them.

I'm getting this picture framed.

My happy little Rosie Bee. I’m getting this picture framed.

7 responses to “My precious baby girl

  1. Rene S says:

    Take lots of photos now, while she’s the way you want to remember her. We send happy purrs to you.

  2. I don’t think we have been to your blog before but when I read this I had to come and say how sorry I am to read that Rosie’s cancer has returned. It is so hard to hear what you are dreading the vet will say to you. I went through this with one of my previous cats and it is very hard but sometimes you have to hurt yourself even more to let them have relief from their pain. My thoughts are with you and I know you will know when the time is right.
    Sue (Mum to Hannah and Lucy)

  3. I’m so sorry your Rosie is not well. Life is too short, no matter what happens. Fillin’ our lives with love is what makes up for its shortness, I think. Rosie knows you love her and as long as she’s not in pain, her life is good. Many, many purrs bein’ sent your way… for both you and Rosie. purrs

  4. Fuzzy Tales says:

    I’m so sorry. It’s the worst news to get and so unbelievably hard to let our beloved companions go, even when it’s their time. We’re sending purrs and purrayers to Rosie that she has some quality time with you still, and that when she’s ready to cross, she does so peacefully, quietly and mercifully.

    We’re also sending purrs and purrayers to you too, that you’ll know when, if the universe doesn’t decide this for you.

    I always wondered if I’d know, and in fact I did. In all honesty, I knew two or three days before I took my angel Annie in that last time. My heart knew, but my head kept thinking that maybe there other things we could do. It was without doubt, the worst thing I’ve ever had to do to date. So universal blessings and peace to you at this time, and going forward. (((Hugs)))

  5. We are so sorry to hear about Rosie. We send you and her purrs and headbutts as you go through this difficult time. Enjoy the time you have with her.

  6. Sending comforting purrrrrrss and gentle headbonks to Rosie. Hang in there as long as you can, Rosie, and get all the cuddles you can, both of you.

Leave a Reply

