The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Two Weeks

on April 26, 2013

I miss her so much.

008

I know I definitely want more kitties, but right now it’s just so hard. The other day I got her final vet bill and I just lost it. It was like I lost my baby all over again. That’s when I realized I’m just not ready to adopt just yet. It made me realize right now I just want *her*. I want her to park herself on my chest in the morning. I want her to sleep on me when I chilled on the couch after work (I always thought of this as “Mom and Me” time, lol). Grief is an interesting, complicated, sneaky thing. I don’t like it.

I miss my Rosie so much.

😦

14 responses to “Two Weeks

  1. rykmau says:

    I feel your pain, Susan, but time is a great healer. Rosie will let you know when the time is right for another kitty to come into your life again. I’m still paying the bill for my first two kitties that have since passed and my current kitty’s surgery on his teeth but they were and are worth every penny. It’s hard to believe Rosie is gone but her spirit lives on.

  2. Wait till you’re ready. You’ll know when you are ready to embrace another kitty. Not a replacement for Rosie. Just a kitty in need of a home and a human to love.

  3. I agree. You’ll know. But also – there will NEVER be a replacement. But there WILL be more love in your life. Each kitty is different and ALL have so much to offer. And of course, as a private rescuer, I always hope that folks will definitely reach out and offer love to another homeless animal. There are SO many waiting . . .
    So sorry for your loss.
    ~Chrystal

  4. We have never visited you before but read about you on the CB and thought we would drop by to offer what comfort we could. Losing a friend is so very hard and the emptiness so overwhelmingly enormous afterwards, especially in the case if a single pet. But do remember through your tears that there is always more love waiting…

    Purrs,
    The Chans (also woofs from Tommy, Neighs from the horsies and good vibes from our #1)

  5. You will heal, and be ready for another baby in your home and heart. Till then we are sending purrs to help heal you.

  6. Morgen says:

    Only time can heal those special kitty sized holes in our hearts.
    My Chloe left a giant hole in mine, and I still look for her every morning when I get out of the shower, where she should be waiting for me in the sink.
    I wish I had words that could help you heal, but please know you’re not alone.

  7. Rene S says:

    Take all the time you need, my dear friend. There was always be cats who need love and a home. Let your heart heal.

  8. I understand how you feel. When we lost Whiskers I didn’t want another cat, but he was such a generous soul (he was always bringing stray dogs and cats home) that I felt I owed it to him to give another cat a home. We started out fostering Scylla & Charybdis (4 week old kittens that would have been put down if someone hadn’t taken them) and without meaning to fell in love. When the time is right another kitten/cat will find it’s way into your home and heart.

  9. I know how much it hurts…I’ve been there. And it will take time…allow yourself that time. When you are ready for another kitty, you’ll know. (((Hugs)))

    Island Cats’ mom

  10. Gracie says:

    I know this is so hard and so sorry that sweet Rosie had to go to the bridge. The heart will never be the same but with time you will be able to think of her and not have the sadness be there. Sending hugs to you.

  11. Take all the time you need to grieve. Yesterday was the two year anniversary of losing my Sweet Praline to cancer and it still hurts. I waited about 4 months before getting another cat and now I have two and each day the hole in my heart is smaller and smaller. You’ve received a lot of advice and comforting thoughts here and they are right. You’ll know when the time is right and there will be another fur child in your life.

  12. Sending warm purrs of comfort. I lost two kitties in two months and it is so very hard to carry on but time does heal. You will know when you are ready for another cat and it will not replace Rosie – no cat every will but caring for a new kitty will help you heal.

  13. Tiger Lily says:

    I know how you feel, for sure. We lost our Zeke in February but I still look for him to come to the door when I get home from work. It’s hard!

    But … I believe that the pain we feel at the loss of one we love is our heart expanding so there’s room for a new love. The new one never replaces the one we lost, just adds more to our lives. You will know when the time for the new one arrives.

  14. Brenda, Boots & Ozzie says:

    When I lost my girl Ninja to cancer, I thought that I could not go through the pain again. My sister told me ‘there are many cats out there who need love”, and one found me. Boots (and now Ozzie) have not replaced Ninja in my heart, but I am thankful every day that I am able to make their life wonderful and they make mine wonderful back.

    I think Ninja sent them to me so I would not be alone. Maybe that will happen for you too.

    Wishing you all the best.

    Boots, Ozzie & Brenda

Leave a Reply

