The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Introducing Sophie!

on August 12, 2013
Sophie

Introducing Miss Sophie!

I’m so pleased to announce that I have a mew addition! Her name is Sophie. Sophie is going on five months old. She originated as the same shelter where I got Grizzy, but she was then transferred to a shelter very close to my home. It was by total chance that I went to the shelter and saw her. It was actually my mom who said “Hey, do you want to stop by?” I remember telling her I would love to get a longer-haired kitty, although I’d be happy no matter what the hair, so long as s/he was a good fit for me and Grizzy.

When I saw Miss Sophie with her hair I immediately was “Ohhhh!” I decided to visit her a bit to see how she was. Within moments I knew she was the one. Her energy and spunk are such a great match for Grizzy. He took to her right away. There were a few displays of dominance (aka “Let me pin you down and lick you”), but that’s tapered off. Griz never growled, swatted, or was mean to Sophie, which was such a relief for me. (Miss Rosie Bee was definitely the queen bee here and wanted NOTHING to do with other cats! So having a smooth transition was great.)

I made sure to give him some extra cuddles the first few days especially, so he wouldn’t feel slighted. But I have to say, they are just great together. Now my little kitty family is complete. 🙂

Sophie and Grizzy

Sophie and Griz like to chill together

I still think it’s so funny how things worked out. Honestly, I never thought I’d have a solid-colored kitties! I guess after Rosie’s patchwork colors, I thought I’d always have to have a cat with some variation in tones – white and another color, or dilute calico, etc. It makes me chuckle to think how I thought that but now I have two solids. But it really was meant to be. I could not be happier with Mr. Griz and Miss Sophie, and I feel very fortunate that they picked me.

2 responses to “Introducing Sophie!

  1. rykmau says:

    Welcome Miss Sophie. I’m so glad you and Grizzy have become fast furriends. I look forward to seeing more of the both of you.

  2. Rene S says:

    Oh I’ve been waiting for this announcement. They both look so content and I knew the introduction would be easy. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

