The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Happy Black Cat Appreciation Day!

on August 18, 2013
two black kitties

This looks like Grizzy and Sophie!

Happy Black Cat Appreciation Day! I think this is such a neat day. I actually had no idea that black cats were so maligned, but then I had not one but two passing experiences in shelters where people loudly and clearly expressed their distaste for black cats. One woman passed by the cage and instead of saying nothing, made sure to announce – complete with mock shiver – that she would “never adopt a black cat. Never!” Eesh. I remember thinking “Who asked you?!”

I didn’t set out to adopt black cats; I was just looking for some kitties who needed a good home. The right cats found me – and what do you know! – they just so happened to be black. They also happen to so loving, so fun, and quite stunning, if I do say so myself! I like how, from farther away, all you can see is eyes. lol And I think it’s just so cool that they have their own special day.

I also discovered that Grizzy’s “girlfriend” (aka a neighborhood cat that’s been stopping by the past few nights) is black, too! Maybe she figured she’d be welcome here. 🙂

2 responses to “Happy Black Cat Appreciation Day!

  1. rykmau says:

    Grizzy and Sophie are beautiful kitties. I’m so glad you adopted them and they are, too.

  2. Rene S says:

    I know that, sadly, black cats are often passed by for more “interesting” ones. However, I can’t understand people just not liking them. You can brag that you own TWO house panthers!

Leave a Reply

