The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Grizzy Gets a Trim

on September 10, 2013

Hurrah! Tonight was the first night I trimmed Grizzy’s nails. I know it was well overdue, but it seemed like there was always something. An ear infection, another ear infection, adjusting to Sophie (not that that was an issue)…I just felt like the poor guy has been through enough poking and prodding. And to be honest, I was worried about how he’d react. He was a champ with all the ear drops, but nails…hmm…

Well, tonight I decided to bite the bullet. I managed to clip at least six of his nails on his front paws! I tried a couple different ways to see what would work best. I wouldn’t say he enjoyed it, but he was pretty amicable. I figure I’ll get the remaining front nails tomorrow. I’m a little worried about his back claws, though. I think I might have to bring in some help for that!

The past few weeks have been pretty tough as far as missing Rosie goes. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the Halloween kitties! Sophie and Griz are just amazing and I love them to bits. But for some reason I’ve just been hit with RMR (Really Missing Rosie). I had a dream a few nights ago when I realized she was gone and in my dream I sobbed for at least an hour. I woke up and that same sad feeling was with me all day. I have pictures of her that I want to put up, but I’m holding off on it because it kind of hurts…because she’s gone. My little muffin. I still have her as the lock screen picture on my phone, so I get to peek at her throughout the day. But it’s still tough.

That said, it’s nice to wake up to this:

Sophie's fuzzy foot.

Sophie’s fuzzy foot.

Usually Grizzy sleeps by my feet while Sophie sleeps by my head. They’re so good. 🙂

3 responses to “Grizzy Gets a Trim

  1. It’s natural for you to love the other kitties while missing Rosie. Each one has a special place in our heart. And we do miss them when they go. Hugs

  2. rykmau says:

    Isn’t that amazing? I, too, decided to trim Tiny’s nails for the first time yesterday. The vet usually does it. I watched a few videos to see how it was done. I did it while the boy was sound asleep and he was really good about it. He went right back to sleep after the deed was done. I could not have done it if he was awake. I still cry when I think about my two kitties that have passed so I truly can relate to what you are going through with missing Rosie Bee. We won’t ever forget our babies. I’m glad I have Tiny and love him to pieces. Time is a great healer and Grizzy and Sophie will help ease the pain. Tiny and the outside kitty have helped me tremendously.

  3. Rene S says:

    I think I’ve mentioned this to you before, but I can still think of my Berries and get tears in my eyes, and it’s been seven years! There’s something special about your first kitty. She will always be a part of you.

Leave a Reply

