The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Little Miss Sophie

on October 21, 2013
Froggy Sophie

Froggy Sophie

Every day I wake up and I think how lucky I am to have my two kitties. They always make me smile and laugh.

Sophie is especially silly sometimes. I had to snap this pic because I’ve not seen a cat lay like that! Of course, she’s a busy little thing, so I’m sure she was there for all of five seconds before she was up and zipping to her next matter of business.

In other news, Gigi was back last night and again about an hour ago. I called a few humane societies about her (i.e., could I rent a trap and bring her in to get scanned or spayed?). They were all polite, and some very nice, but all were very honest, meaning Gigi’s options are pretty limited and not necessarily happy endings.

Right now (that is, since I spoke with the last shelter rep) I’m taking the advice of one and trying to get a better look at her to see if she’s pregnant or not. I was going to get a trap just in case, but I didn’t see or hear her for about a week. Now she’s back again, so I’ll likely call tomorrow and see if I can get a trap. I was also thinking of putting out a little shelter for her? I wish I could just scoop her up and bring her inside but I know that, no matter how sweet Gigi is, that would NOT be a safe or smart option. (Not to mention, she scurries away when I get too close to the window, so I highly doubt I could actually pick her up.)

I’m worried for her tonight because I heard her and I assume another cat (?) fighting a few minutes ago. 😦 Sophie ran and hid while Grizzy puffed up his tail and went to the window. It was a pretty loud fight.

I so wish more people were responsible pet owners! I know I’m preaching to the choir here, but argh. I wish people would spay or neuter their pets – and take care of them, as they committed to do so when they first adopted the animals. Pets are living, sentient beings, not things you just dispose of when you tire of them. Why do so many people not seem to grasp this? Argh. Again, I know I’m preaching to the choir.

I’m going to give my two kitties an extra squeeze tonight…

2 responses to “Little Miss Sophie

  1. Rene S says:

    Oh good, you saw Gigi again! I went to a thrift store to make the shelter I have.

  2. rykmau says:

    Little Sophie is just like my Tiny. They are little tornadoes. I hope you can help Gigi and that she’s not pregnant. It’s pretty scary when they get into fights. I totally agree with you about people being very irresponsible when it comes to animals. I’m glad Grizzy and Sophie are safe with you.

Leave a Reply

