The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

We’re back!

on December 3, 2013

Well, we were always here, just locked away doing the action research project. Basically, it’s like a thesis for the master’s program. If all goes according to plan, I’ll be getting a master’s in Adult Education and Organizational Development this month. OD covers a lot of things, but the most succinct way I heard it put was “It’s the (behavioral) science of managing change within organizations.”

It’s a neat program in that it can be applied to lots of different things. Training, teaching, human resources. In my class, there is a nurse, a project manager, an instructional designer, a few teachers…the program is applicable to a wide variety of professions. It’s helped me personally navigate through some organizational change (e.g., mass layoffs). I don’t know that I’ll get a job as an OD practitioner (that’s what they like to call us at school, hehe), and I highly doubt it’ll make me a millionaire, but I have enjoyed most of my classes and I have found a lot of them quite useful. Handy bits of information…worth the money? Hmm…lol.

At any rate, it’s been a long road, and I’m very happy to be done!

You see, I have finished my action research project! The project that I’ve been working on since January. I emailed an electronic copy yesterday and handed in two hard copies today. I started the research part of it back in January. Before I could do the “action” part, I needed to compile previous research then “synthesize” (lord, am I over that word) the research into a new idea that I could research. That was my proposal.

In May, my proposal was approved and I was given the green light to do my research. I was told “This part will be easy. All you have to do is go through your paper and change ‘I will’s’ to ‘I did’ and then add on your data analysis.” Mm-hm. And I’m the Queen of France.

My final paper ended up being 75 pages. Pure insanity. This Saturday, I have my poster presentation*, which means I stand for an hour and a half in front of my 3′ x 4′ poster and answer questions about my project. Then a couple weeks later I graduate, woo!

It’s still surreal that it’s almost over. In a way, I feel like 2013 was “The Year That Wasn’t,” because everything was seemed to be all about the research project/paper. But big things happened, too: Rosie getting sick, losing Rosie, adopting Griz, adopting Sophie…good and bad…and a lot of big things. I’ve been thinking about all that stuff lately, so I’m sure I’ll process it a bit here in upcoming posts (which won’t be written a month or two from now, I promise).

Currently, the two black bebehs are passed out by my feet. They had a rousing game of Chase the String, followed by Fetch the Fake Mouse. It’s funny how quiet is gets when they decide it’s naptime! It’s extreme spazz-out time for an hour or so and then silence. Too funny.

This is long, so I will leave more for my next posts. I have much to share! Pictures, a Gigi (our feral visitor) update, and info on building a shelter for Gigi, which she has been using.

Sophe and Grizzy zonked out

Similar to their current state – only they are now both passed out cold.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

-SG&S

*Yes, in addition to writing a 75-page paper, I got to design a giant poster presentation, too. So much for “You just need to change the tenses and you’re set!” :p

2 responses to “We’re back!

  1. Sounds like a very busy year. Glad the hard part is over. Now you can relax and enjoy the rest of the year. 🙂 Good work, you persevered and made it through.

  2. Rene S says:

    Yeah, back to posting!! Time to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

