The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

It’s cold out there!

on January 21, 2014

I just got back from a half-hour walk. Holy smokes. I love walking, and I don’t mind the snow (I actually enjoy it most of the time), but the wind! It cut right through my normally quite warm fleece-lined gloves. I wish I would have picked up a pair of those recycled-from-wool-sweaters mittens I’d seen at a craft fair in November. Next year.

Thankfully, I know in this cold weather Gigi has a place she can tuck into. Late last year I built her a shelter, using a big Rubbermaid bin, a styrofoam cooler and some straw. It’s the shelter equivalent of a turducken. 🙂 I lined the styrofoam cooler with some light-colored fleece.* I figured this would be extra cozy for her, and given that she’s black, it would make it easy for me to see if she’d been in there. And she has! I don’t have a picture of that yet, but I will get one soon.

Tonight, though, I have pictures of the shelter in progress.

Inspecting.

Inspecting.

You think I'm gonna go in there?!

You think I’m gonna go in there?!

Well, I'll just test it out...

Well, I’ll just test it out…

I realized after I cut that I made the hole a little too low to the ground, so I taped a piece back on. This gives a little more shelter from the wind and cold, but still allows the kitties to get inside easily (as tested by Grizzy).

I haven’t heard Gigi for a few days, but I *did* hear her after the polar vortex had passed, so whew. I don’t think I was ever so glad to hear 4:30 am caterwauling! I’m sure she’s got a good, warm spot on cold nights like tonight. And, of course, she’s always got a spot here.

In other news, can you believe January is nearing an end? I had a goal to get my house fully organized by January 31: closets, kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, a place for everything and everything in its place. So far, so good, although I have a bit more to do. Life without school is still a bit odd, but at the same time, now I’m wondering how I did it! I mean, the two adorable black kitties that live with me require a lot of pampering…lol.

Have a great week!
SG&S

*I originally had some old Halloween fleece, but then I decided lighter would probably be better (for me to see).

2 responses to “It’s cold out there!

  1. Rene S says:

    Oh Grizzy, I’m glad you tested out the shelter and approve. And we’re happy it’s being used!

  2. rykmau says:

    That is such a great shelter for Gigi and Grizzy gave it two paws up. Thank you for taking care of this precious feral kitty.

Leave a Reply

