The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

on February 10, 2014

058

I was sick last week. One morning I woke up at 4 am, nose stuffed, ears hurting, throat on fire. I called into work and tried to go back to bed. It was difficult, given how I felt, but probably a half-hour or 45 minutes later I fell asleep.

Only to be woken by a blaring alarm! And not my personal alarm–the alarm in the building. For a second I thought it must be a fluke but it kept going and going. I jumped out of bed, turned on the lights, and rushed out into the hallway.

One of my neighbors across the hall was at her door. We both didn’t smell smoke, didn’t feel any heat, didn’t hear anything…what the heck was going on?!

A few minutes later the alarm stopped. One of the facilities guys came around and apologized, saying it was a false alarm, water had shorted a circuit or something.

During those crazed moments when the alarm blared, a few things came into my mind. The funny ones first:

1) I was sick, and while physically I could feel adrenaline flowing, mentally I wasn’t quite awake. So that might explain why I thought, “I wonder if this particular alarm [since it sounded different than the fire alarm at work] is because of a chemical spill?” Yeah, a a chemical spill. In a residential building. (And, really, do commercial buildings have different alarm sounds for different issues, like fire, chemical, who knows what?)

2) I went out into the hallway, not only rough from sleep but also being sick, and in my robe. No problem. But at some point I realized, “I’m still wearing my mouth guard and I’m talking to my neighbor.” (I rotate wearing retainers and a really thick mouth guard. Sexy!)

3) Now this the serious one that keep me awake probably as much as the adrenaline. What was I going to do with my babies? I cannot fully express the panic I felt, as I raced across my living room to the door. As I ran, the cats were zooming back and forth, and I thought how will I catch them? How will I get them out in time? Ugh, it makes me tear up just thinking about it. Thank God it was just a false alarm, but what if it had been real? Would they go into their crates? Or would I just have to pick them up haphazardly and cling to them for dear life as we ran out the door?

I’ve always known that my cats are my babies; I love them to bits. They are my heart–pet people understand. I feel so blessed to have them. But it’s times like that that really throws that love into sharp perspective. You realize just. how. much. you love your pets, and just what you would do to ensure their safety…and how awful it is to lose them, or even think of losing them. You realize what a big part of your heart they have.

In a way, I’m kind of glad I was sick last week. I got to spend two unplanned days on the couch–in misery, yes–but also knowing that those were two extra days when I could just soak up their loving and give them extra squeezes and kisses. I love those guys so, so much.

…and to end on a silly note, I still can’t believe I was talking to my neighbor with my mouth guard in. No wonder she was looking at me funny, lol!

One response to “

  1. rykmau says:

    I’m so sorry you were so sick last week, Susan, and I hope you’re feeling much better today. I got a good chuckle, though, reading about your mouth guard and talking to your neighbor. Good thing you had your clothes on. LOL I, too, worry about fire and my Tiny. The boy freaks very easily and will hide so there is no way I would be able to find or catch him in case of an emergency. It really worries me also. We need to have a plan for our babies. I would be devastated if anything happened to my boy. I totally understand your unconditional love for your furkids. I don’t think I’ve ever loved a human as much as I love my kitties. They are my life.

Leave a Reply

