The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Sophie turns 1!

on March 18, 2014

Happy birthday, Sophie!

Seven months ago I was blessed with my little Sophie*. Before I adopted her, I knew I wanted another cat, but I wasn’t sure I was quite ready. One hot August day my mom and I were going to the state fair; before we went, out of nowhere my mom said, “Let’s go look at the humane society.” I wasn’t thrilled, but my mom wouldn’t budge. I thought it would be pointless, but who knew!

My tiny girl

My tiny girl

We walked through the doors to the visiting area. To my left I saw a large cage outside the rooms with the cubbies. I saw two little black furballs, but my eyes were drawn to one that looked like she had touched a light socket. “Ooh, look at that fluffy black one!”

We went over and saw Miss Sophie and her cage mate. They were both adorable, but I was really drawn to Sophie. (I’ve always thought it’d be cool to have a long-haired cat; they are so elegant.) We watched the two play and immediately I knew Sophie was special. Why? Because as I laughingly told one person, “She was beating up her friend.”

Now, she wasn’t at all—I just meant that it was pretty obvious Sophie was the firecracker of the two—a real instigator. I had been with Grizzy for a while, so I knew he was very playful and would likely do well with another cat that liked to play.

We took her into a room and that was that. I knew she was the one for our family. 🙂 I couldn’t adopt her that day, as we were going to the fair, so I asked if I could start the adoption and pick her up the next day. They let me put a hold on her (ugh, I hate how that sounds), but said since it happened to be a kitten adoption event, if someone wanted to take her home that day, that person would trump us.

Fortunately for me, I was able to take her home the next day! I brought her into the house in her carrier. Grizzy made inquisitive, quiet “mrow?” sounds. Since he wasn’t acting salty in the slightest, I gently put the carrier down on the floor. I thought if he flips, I will scoop the carrier up and do a very, very slow introduction.
Grizzy just sniffed and “Mrow?”ed a little louder, like he wanted to play. Then he flopped over onto his back and “Mrow? Mrrrow?” to Sophie.

Suffice to say, it was by far the most painless introduction I’ve ever had. I had a few days of Grizzy trying to lick Sophie to death, but after that, it was just straight-up play time. I used to cheer Sophie as she got her bearings in the house and started to ambush Griz. 🙂 (“Go get him, Sophie!”)

Sophie and Grizzy

Sophie and Griz like to chill together

Sophie is my wild child. She is fearless. I see her jump up on a counter, a counter Griz was too scared to jump on. I’ve seen him wiggle and muster up the courage to jump up after his sister. She makes him brave.
In the mornings she hides under the covers with me and melts my heart. She is such a sweet girl, I thank God for her (and Griz) every day. They both make my heart feel so full. I am happy that Sophie was such a perfect match for our little family.

My sweet Sophie

My sweet Sophie

Happy birthday, sweet girl!

*I’ve always liked the name Sophie, but it is even more special to me after reading “Sophie’s World”—a book that is essentially a primer on philosophy, but done in a really neat way. It’s the story of a schoolgirl who takes a correspondence philosophy course that her dad got her as a present for her 15th birthday. I thought the name was fitting for my Sophie, because my Sophie (like the book Sophie), is incredibly curious—and a sweet girl. 🙂

3 responses to “Sophie turns 1!

  1. rykmau says:

    Happy birthday, Sophie. What a beautiful story and I’m so glad it all worked out purrfectly for the 3 of you. God sends us angels when He knows we need them. I thank Him every day for Tiny and Callie, my two blessings.

  2. Rene S says:

    Happy birthday, you special girl! I am still amazed at how this all was meant to be. Grizzy clearly loves her.

  3. Connie says:

    it is always awesome when intros go so smoothly..

    Happy birthday Sophie!

Leave a Reply

