The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Cord-saving suggestions?

on April 1, 2014

Dear Cat Parents, I need your help.

My dearest Sophie has chewed through many a cord. It looks like she’s gone through a second laptop charger cord (ARGH!).

I’ve read that Critter Cord smells pretty bad. Does anyone here have any firsthand experience with it? Or any other tried-and-true suggestions for keeping my cords safe from my little chewer (and her safe from them)?

Newsflash: It looks like she didn’t entirely kill it! It really hasn’t been chewed too badly–only a few marks here and there. Maybe I just didn’t have it plugged in all the way. But I’m still open to your suggestions, as I would rather not spend any more money on cords!

5 responses to “Cord-saving suggestions?

  1. Rene S says:

    I shared this post on my blog in case anyone can help. I know from experience that Bitter Apple doesn’t work for many cats.

  2. Connie says:

    I got a larger cord keeper thing to keep the kittens from chewing on cords.. My Twee likes chewing ear buds and thin cords, and I just keep those out of her reach.. but I’d try a http://www.staples.com/Staples-Large-Flex-Tube/product_630858 type object for a power cord..

  3. Amy Johnson says:

    Seconding Connie’s suggestion of the tubing – as none of the bitter apple/orange/etc. sprays ever seemed to help with my two when they were young. When I shopped for the split tubes, my go-to stores were Radio Shack, and oddly enough, the automotive section at WalMart.

  4. I have a cord chewer too. Ernie has chewed through the phone cord, the coffee pot cord and bit the TV cord. I bought the cord tubing as others have suggested and it helps.

  5. Melly is a cord chewer. I keep meaning to try the solutions listed above (tubing, etc.) but in the meantime, I’ve found that coating cords in hot sauce is a great short-term option.

Leave a Reply

