The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Oh, Rosie…

on April 11, 2014

151005

It’s been a year since I said goodbye to Rosie. I can’t say too much, because it still really hurts to think about that day. I can hardly believe it’s been a year, though. To say there have been some changes is a wild understatement. I finished grad school. (I still don’t know how I did that, I really don’t.) My department underwent a massive reorg, so my job has changed considerably. So many things are different, so many things happened.

I will always think of how sweet my brother E was that day. It was the first time I ever really had the chance to grieve someone in a way that was natural to me, without feeling like I had to hurry it up or keep it under wraps. He was very kind and said nice things but also let me be sad, keeping me company without saying anything. That was very comforting.

Rosie was simply an amazing, wonderful, sweetheart of a cat. She had the softest fur, the best caterwaul of a meow, and the loudest purr. I would always comment that “Oh, the furnace is on” because she would start with this “Whomp!” and then the motor was on.

I loved how when I got home she’d walk out in the hallway and then back in. It was great, because it gave me time to get my mail, lol! I would then pick her up and she’d give me a face rub. I’d try to ask for one more and usually she’d acquiesce before she’d press on my arm like “Mom, put me down now–I want FOOD!”

I loved how she would let me hold her for what seemed like hours. I loved how she would always walk on my feet. Il loved her sweet little face, with her one blind eye and her little spot of tan on her whisker cheek. She was my muffin. I miss you, Rosie Bee. But I am thankful I had you to love for as long as I did, and I know you are enjoying lots of sun and all the wet food you want. 🙂

4 responses to “Oh, Rosie…

  1. A sweet remembrance of your Rosie. 🙂

  2. rykmau says:

    What a lovely tribute to Rosie Bee. It made my eyeballs leak. She was with you through thick and thin and you were there for her, Susan, till the very end. There was so much love between the two of you. She knew she was so loved by you and you gave her a wonderful life.

  3. Rene S says:

    I’m glad you can fondly remember the good times you had. I love the photo of you both together.

  4. Connie says:

    the wonderful thing about love, is it is never really lost.. while she isn’t here physically, she will be with you forever..

Leave a Reply

