The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Ah, to work part-time

on May 19, 2014

Sometimes I think it would be so great to be able to work part-time. Even 35 hours a week would be awesome! Then I could hang out with the furkids. They always make me happy. And Sophie always makes me laugh. For some reason, that lady always gravitates towards shoes!

Sophie is a shoe girl all the way.

Sophie is a shoe girl all the way.

In Grizzy news, I weighed him this afternoon and he’s down .02 ounces. 😦 I’m trying not to freak out, because I imagine cats have natural fluctuations in their weight, just like people. Still, I know he’s lost weight, but I don’t know why. All his lab reports were good (except for the high titer showing exposure to corona virus).

He ate a little this evening, but as usual, it was just a little. I’m struggling with how low is too low? The other day he did his coughing/wheezing thing for about 5-7 seconds. Other than that, he’s been as active as usual, sleeping normally, I hear him in his box (and saw him go just the other day–all was normal–and I am kicking myself for not grabbing that sample), etc. I tried Vita Gravy and he wasn’t having that (neither was the little miss). Guess I’ll just keep an eye on him and try not to freak out…OH! But I will be trying to get a stool sample. Hopefully I’ll get one very quickly and take it into the vet right away.

ETA: He ate a bit more food tonight, and he had a good long run-and-wrestle session with Sophie, but he’s been laying down for a while now (not unusual) and his ears are very warm (which is unusual). I have a feeling I’ll be doing frequent checks tonight…

4 responses to “Ah, to work part-time

  1. rykmau says:

    It would be great to work parttime and get paid fulltime. When I was in my 20’s, I always envied others who were going to retire and enjoy their lives. Now, I am that person and I can spend every single day with my furkits. Time flies. If Sophie wore shoes, I bet she would have a closet full of them. LOL I’m glad you are keeping track of Grizzy’s weight. We constantly worry about them whenever there is a change in their behavior, weight or appetite. I’m glad everything seems normal with Grizzy.

  2. Connie says:

    wouldn’t it be great if we could get paid to play with kitties 🙂 (says the woman with a basement full of them)

    Yes, Grizzy’s weight is important, but so are all of the other things. A sneeze isn’t a big deal, could have been a wee bit of dust up the nose. eating, active, interested.. that is what is important.

  3. Rene S says:

    Perhaps he has allergies? Have you tried to give him a chlortrimeton to see if that helps?

  4. everycat says:

    Oh to be paid to play with cats and kittens all day instead of stalking around a rainy, cold churchyard to set a trap for a tabby cat who is in a state and needs in asap which is what awaits me this evening.

    As a reassuring aside, one poop can weigh 200g so weighing at different times of day can make a difference (especially to our anxiety levels)

    Grizzy sounds like he is doing really well!

Leave a Reply

