The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Quick Grizzy update

on June 29, 2014

I took Grizzy to the vet last week after he had a coughing/wheezing fit the night before. I spoke with the vet yesterday. Evidently, Grizzy is proving to be an interesting case. Negative for heart worm, but now positive for feline leukemia. However, there’s a chance this could be a false positive, as he was negative last month; they are running one more test–I think it’s the ELISA–to confirm. Depending on what that shows, we’ll determine next steps. His sugars are also consistently low, which could be Addison’s. But one thing at a time. All other lab work was identical to last month’s results.

Of course, last night he started sneezing. I thought maybe it was because I had vacuumed yesterday and then put on the air conditioning. I turned the AC off. Today he’s been sneezing again, though there is no discharge and he doesn’t have watery eyes. He’s also been extremely active, both last night and this morning.

If the sneezing gets worse today, I’ll call the vet. Otherwise, I’m giving her a call tomorrow.

I’m trying really hard not to freak out, but this whole thing is so upsetting. I don’t know what I’d do if I were to lose him. And Sophie…she would miss him so much. But I’m trying to stay positive (really!). It’s not FIP, which I expected, but it’s nice to hear both the lab and the vet say “Yeah, chances of it being FIP are slim to none.” It’s not heartworm. I’m praying it’s not feline leukemia, but I’m also praying we figure out what is wrong so we can fix it. Stress, stress, stress…my poor G! 😦

2 responses to “Quick Grizzy update

  1. rykmau says:

    I hope you get much better news on Monday. Take things one day at a time. So glad Grizzy doesn’t have FIP and is negative for heartworms and hope it is a false negative for FIL.

  2. rykmau says:

    Oops, I meant false positive.

Leave a Reply

