The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Where does the time go?

on July 27, 2014

I can’t believe it’s almost August! This whole year has been quite the whirlwind. Getting back to life after graduating last December. Then being approached with a new job opportunity. Having that stretch out for about three months. Grizzy losing weight…and losing more weight. So many vet visits! And now it’s almost August. The time has flown by.

I’ve been settled into my new position for an entire month now. I love the team I work with and I love what I do. Unfortunately, there are some murmurings of more changes (Sigh. Is this the new normal for organizations??), but I’m trying to stay positive and focus on the great things, like my team and my work :).

My sweethearts.

My sweethearts.

When I last posted here I mentioned Grizzy and the new diet. You may have heard the choir of angels singing a week or so ago? That was because the G-man ate the vet-approved can food! No, it wasn’t the raw; however, the vet approved Logic brand food. She said it would be a good transitional step toward raw food. I just about fell over when he ate it, but he did! The transition to raw continues, but having him eat the Logic and another brand (I forget it off-hand and I’m too lazy to look. Nature’s Variety, maybe?), gave me a lot of encouragement.

G is still skinny, but he’s been staying stable at 8.4 pounds. The vet said while this is on the slim side of normal, it is still OK. “He might just be a skinny cat.” My goals right now are to continue the transition to raw, get G to gain a little weight, and keep both kitties happy.

I think G is slightly less active, but that could be the heat. Do your cats tend to eat less and rest more in the hot weather? I’ve wondered that for some time. Both my furkids are plenty active but it does seem as though they’ve slowed down a bit. (As have I, haha. This past weekend I was so flippin’ tired!!)

That’s about it for now. Have a great week! 🙂

4 responses to “Where does the time go?

  1. rykmau says:

    I can so relate to the murmurings at work and not knowing what the future holds. It was like that for me for 33 years until I could finally get out. It’s great to hear Grizzy loves the Logic food and you can slowly transition him to raw. I need to do that with Tiny. I just got him to eat no-grain canned food so it’s a start. He is only 10 pounds and my vet thinks he is overweight. 😦 I’m glad you mentioned that Sophie and Grizzy are eating less and not as active during the summer months. I’ve noticed that, too, with my kitties. They sure do sleep a lot. They get more sleep than I do. LOL Tiny won’t even run after his favorite toy wand but will walk instead and then park himself in the living room until I come around with it and he tries to grab it then. Lazy boy. Tiny is a little over three and I can see his activity level decreasing. He used to be like a maniac sometimes.

  2. Connie says:

    Yes, the crew spends a great deal of time imitating dead cats when it gets hot out, and food holds less of an appeal… just as it does for us humans, we tend to eat lighter and less food when it is hot..

    glad Griz is holding steady at one weight.. it might be his new normal.

  3. Rene S says:

    On hot days, Benny eats less and “sprawls out” more. Sadie doesn’t seem to care what the weather is, and will eat the same. I’m glad Grizzy is starting the food transition. Step by step you’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

