The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

on July 30, 2014

First off, thank you to everyone who answered about the kitties eating/sleeping habits during hot weather. It made me feel a lot better. And interestingly enough, the next morning it was fairly cool and boy howdy was Grizzy ever in rare form, zipping around everywhere. It made me think of honeybees when the beekeepers fog them and they slow down. BZZZZ!-ZZz….zzz…..zz. Only it was the opposite of that: cooler weather and suddenly G was full of energy!

He’s still a little less energetic overall BUT he’s eating better and his coughing fits appear to be fully gone, so I’ll take these positive steps.

The probiotics, on the other hand…the G-man is NOT having that. I can’t even force it in his mouth now; it’s like he smells it as soon as I take the cap off the tube and he bolts or puts up a serious struggle. I can barely get any by his mouth or on his whiskers. Tonight I had to sneak up on him (well, I tried) and he turned so fast I got hit on his upper shoulder. He promptly bent over to scratch it and then hop-ran away. (Evidently he didn’t like the feel of the goo on his foot.) Argh!

Any tips for getting your cat to take probiotics? 🙂

You know what else Grizzy doesn’t like? Bananas. Multiple times I’ve come home to see the bananas all bitten up, and a couple times I’ve actually caught him in the act. Finally I remembered to take a picture:

G says, "No me gusta."

G says, “No me gusta.”

Maybe the probiotics are banana flavored? Haha.

Have a lovely mid-week!

4 responses to “

  1. rykmau says:

    Have you seen these tips for cats (link below)? Might work for Griz. I have to put eye drops in Tiny’s eyes and gel on his gums daily but I’m glad he’s pretty cooperative about them. I usually give the drops just before I feed him and he knows once I put them in, he’ll get rewarded with food. It’s good to associate something positive when you have to do something they don’t like. As for the gel, I wait until Tiny takes his nap and then he’s just too tired to put up a fight. LOL I also trim his nails then, too. I’m glad Griz is doing much better and his coughing is gone. Maybe you could put the probiotic on the bananas since he likes biting into them. 🙂

    http://www.vetstreet.com/cats/how-to-give-your-cat-medication

  2. Rene S says:

    A banana hater, now that’s funny!

  3. Connie says:

    hater or lover?? that is the real question.

    there are many different types of probiotics out there, maybe trying something different might go over better. I’ve still got a few boxes of these if you might like a pack or two I could send them over if you want.. http://www.thehonestkitchen.com/pro-bloom

Leave a Reply

