The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

A quiet evening

on August 8, 2014

It’s been a long day, but a good day. This week flew by. I’ve spent a lot of time with the mister and the little miss. I never fail to squee over her little legs and feet.

Sophie feet.

Sophie feet.

A moment before I got that shot her legs were crossed at the ankle! Next time.

In G health news, I’m pretty worried. Yesterday he was 8.2, today he was 8.0. I’ve tried a bunch of probiotics and will be trying a few more. The vet said there may be a blockage, but things are going in and coming out just fine, so I don’t know if it’d be worth the stress (for both him and me) to have a scope put down him. Thoughts?

He’s still eating about a half-can of the small cat food cans at dinner, and maybe a quarter to a half in the morning. Different varieties. I’ve been leaving Logic dry cat food out and I’ve seen him eating that, too.

I’m baffled. I’m not trying to sound morbid, but if he’s not meant to be here for years and years, well, that would SUCK to put it mildly (can’t say much more or I’ll really start bawling). But if that’s the case, I want him to be comfortable. I just wish I could fix him! I don’t know if it’s something I fed him, or it’s something he ate (like part of a toy) or what. I could drive myself mad wondering about all the possibilities. So instead I’ll look at him propped up on “his” cushion. He’s currently grooming himself in preparation for a nice nap. Oh, Grizzy, I love you so. Why are you losing weight? 😦

5 responses to “A quiet evening

  1. rykmau says:

    I’m so sorry to hear Grizzy is losing weight but he seems to be eating well, keeps his food down and doesn’t have a problem with his plumbing. It would baffle me, too. Tiny is going the opposite way. He gained 6/10’s of an pound when he was weighed at the vet today. He is now 10.8 pounds and the vet thinks he needs to lose a pound. Can I give it to Grizzy? He eats about 2.5 cans of the small canned food (sometimes more), gets no treats or kibbles so he shouldn’t be gaining weight. I don’t free feed him and have him on a schedule. I’m going to have to starve the poor boy. I don’t blame you for not wanting to put Grizzy and you through the stress of having a scope put down him. You are doing everything possible to help him.

  2. Connie says:

    I would be far more inclined to search out an ultra sound than a scope..

    Forgive me for not remembering, have you taken him to another vet for a second opinion?

    • susan says:

      Yes, I took him to a “regular” vet and then to the holistic vet for the second opinion. She suggested the raw diet for some weeks and then a follow-up.

  3. rene S says:

    I would hesitate about doing a scope. Money aside, if he’s had no vomiting, constipation, etc. or something that would indicate a blockage, I wouldn’t put him through that. An ultrasound is an idea, as is a second opinion (get copies of all his tests/x rays or have them sent).

    For comparison’s sake, Sadie is 8 pounds and eats about 2.5-3 oz per day and maintains weight on that.

Leave a Reply

