The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Happy Black Cat Appreciation Day!

on August 18, 2014

hAE34085C

 

Once again, I am late to the ball. But rest assured, I’ve been celebrating Black Cat Appreciation Day all day!

I’d heard the superstitions and stories, but I thought that’s all they were. I was shocked when I was looking for cats after my Rosie died when I heard more than one person loudly announce that they’d NEVER consider taking a black cat, how they hated black cats, how no way, no how, no black cats. A neighbor of mine once commented on a feral cat in the neighborhood and said, “Ugh, and it’s BLACK.”

Are. You. Kidding. Me.

Look past the color, and to the personality. For me, I wasn’t looking for a black cat, per se; I was looking for a cat. He just happened to be Grizzy, and Grizzy just happens to be a very handsome black cat. 🙂 And my little Sophie, I went looking for a personality that would be a good match for the G-man. And Sophie just so happened to be a beautiful long-haired black lady cat!

I may be biased, but I think they are both stunning. They are also such sweethearts. They sleep with me, keep me company, and bring me so much joy. I love my little black kitties!


And tomorrow I hope to play catch-up with some posts and assorted information. 🙂 Have a good week everyone!

2 responses to “Happy Black Cat Appreciation Day!

  1. Rene S says:

    You know, having recently spent time in a shelter, it struck me as odd how many black and black/white cats were there. You will be proud to know that of the four cats we looked at, two were black and white and one was black. 🙂 And we looked only at personality and not color.

  2. Connie says:

    You think you are late.. look at me commenting on this three days later..

Leave a Reply

