The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Slim G

on October 22, 2014

Grizzy continues to do well after his scary weight loss earlier this year. He’s still slim, but he’s maintained a steady weight, which to me is the most important thing. (The vet said his weight is fine.) Last night he had a very, very brief coughing fit–maybe two hacks tops–so while I braced myself initially, I found myself relaxing pretty quickly.

Sophie photobombs Lean G.

Sophie photobombs Lean G.

One thing I did do was change his litter. Trust me, I am kicking myself for not doing this earlier because within a week of changing the litter he had a ton more energy. His activity levels are now through the roof! He still has his rest periods, but his active periods are much longer and livelier than they’d been in months. Also, I’ve noticed his fur has become considerably softer.

Again, why I didn’t change the litter right away, I don’t know. I have this idea that I asked one of the vets if that could be the problem but they said not, but of course I could be remembering wrong.

At any rate, I tried two different litters and both seemed to work well. Both cats use them without issue. There is no dust, which is awesome for me. It wasn’t until I switched litters that I realized how dusty they could be!

Currently G is running around chasing Sophie. I think he might overwhelm her sometimes, because when he’s active he’s really active! She seems to retreat a bit more, but she still enjoys playtime, too. I ordered some cat shelves for them, and I know Sophie especially likes to be up high, so maybe that will help, too. 🙂

3 responses to “Slim G

  1. Rene S says:

    Hooray! And glad you found a better litter (for everyone).

  2. Connie says:

    I’m so glad to hear things are going well.

    What did you use and what did you switch to?

  3. rykmau says:

    Wow, that is great you may have found the cause of Grizzy’s problem. Just a simple thing as changing the litter made a huge difference. I’m curious. What litter are you using? Mine creates a lot of dust. Tiny is so picky about his litter so I try to keep it the same. I sure don’t want him pooping outside of the box again.

Leave a Reply

