The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thrifty Thursday – Mid-Century Modern

on January 29, 2015

It’s that time again! Thrifty Thursday. Lest you think that thrift stores only have ghastly pictures (as evidenced last week), I present to you a pretty stellar find:

Mid-century modern bookshelf.

Mid-century modern bookshelf.

This bad boy was only $6.99 at a St. Vincent de Paul store. Six dollahs and ninnah-nine cents! It was a very exciting find. I thought for sure it was mis-marked, that there must have been a 1 or a 2 in front of the 6, but nope. It was in great shape. The paint on the legs is flaking, and the metal nubs are missing from the legs, but other than that, it’s in excellent condition. It has two sliding glass doors, which you can’t really see from the picture. No nicks, cracks, nothing. Truly a score for a mid-century modern piece.

I think mid-century modern looks really cool, but it’s not really my style per se. Still, I thought it might be a great opportunity to buy it and try to sell it for a profit, something I’ve never attempted. Plus, I knew it’d fit into my car. 🙂

I stood in front of it and stared it down for a good long while, contemplating buying it. (I’m notorious for doing the “It’s five dollars. I mean, if it was FOUR dollars…”) When someone appeared to be taking an interest in the shelf, I reached out my hand to touch it. Finally, I reached out my hand and ripped off the tag, officially claiming it. I then went on my way in search of more bargains.

There was a bit of a panic when I heard a voice over the loudspeaker intone “If someone has the tag for a bookshelf with sliding glass doors…”. I immediately ran up to the registers, waving my ticket wildly. “Oh, OK, it’s yours. You can still shop. Someone else was interested and they said they’ve been waiting a while and no one bought it so they thought maybe it was still available.”

YES! Someone else wanted it but I got it! I felt the flush of victory! ::does victory arm-pump:: (I get really jazzed about this stuff.)

An hour or so later I did buy it. When I got home, I looked at comps. Check this out!

Mid-century modern shelf for a lotta money.

Similar comp from classifieds.apartmenttherapy.com

$289!! Now, I know there is no way I could get that much, and I wouldn’t even try, but still it’s exciting to see what bargains you can find at thrift stores. I just love the hunt! And hopefully I’ll be able to sell it and make someone who loves mid-century modern very happy.

3 responses to “Thrifty Thursday – Mid-Century Modern

  1. Rene S says:

    That is an awesome find! Way to go!!! Are you going to paint it?

  2. Connie says:

    congratulations! I hope you post about it when you decide what to do with it

  3. rykmau says:

    You are so funny, Susan. Great find.

Leave a Reply

