The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Oh, Tannenbaum

on February 5, 2015

Welcome to another edition of Thrifty Thursday! Haha, I love that–sounds like a game show. Today’s feature is something I’ve loved since I was a kid: Ceramic Christmas trees. A friend of mine always put one up in her room every holidays season and I was in awes of it. It was delicate, colorful, and so cheerful. I loved sitting in her room at night with it twinkling away.

Unfortunately, these items are pretty hard to find these days, as they are more of a vintage holiday item. I did find one online at the Vermont Country Store but when it arrived, I could see the quality was less than stellar. (Note: I’ve ordered plenty of other items from VCS and have been very happy with the quality.) Sadly, I sent it back and continued my search.

One day while at my local Salvation Army, I found this beauty!

Vintage ceramic Christmas tree

Oh, thrift store tannenbaum.

I was excited because it was like the tree of my youth, only this one had birds instead of bulbs, which was a nice, unusual touch. It had the base that holds a 60-watt bulb and everything looked good as far as the cord and clicker-oner. I remember it was 6- or 7-something, so naturally I hemmed and hawed and drove around with it in my cart but finally I caved and bought it.

Since then I’ve found two more–one a little smaller and one quite a bit larger. I’ll feature those in a later edition. Today, this happy little tree gets the spotlight. 🙂

There are a few birds missing, but I know they can be ordered online. I just haven’t done it yet, whoops. One day! Rest assured the missing birds haven’t stopped me from enjoying my tree every single day that I have it out.

3 responses to “Oh, Tannenbaum

  1. rykmau says:

    That is pretty. I wonder if there is one with kitties.

  2. Rene S says:

    It looks so pretty lit up! I love it!

  3. Connie says:

    my MIL made us one of those with the birds but all in white.

Leave a Reply

