The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Basket lovin’

on February 9, 2015

I couldn’t resist snapping a pic of G in the basket. Those eyes! He is absolutely in love with that basket, too. It’s funny. Sometimes I’ll walk in the living room and there’s Sophie, by the patio window, and there is Grizzy, tucked inside his basket.

Grizzy in a basket.

It’s a good spot to chill.

It’s so Grizzy. Another thing that’s so Grizzy is sometimes he will sit and cry until I pick him up or give him a good rub-down. He won’t settle for one or two pets–he wants a full-on kitty massage. And he expresses his excitement my rubbing and/or headbutting everything. It’s almost like, “Woo-hoo! Mom’s going to pet me! I’ll just start rubbing my head on the floor.” My silly little G.


How was y’alls weekends? Mine was pretty nice. I did a lot of thinking about future plans: career, life, furniture projects, cats…. Do you ever have weekends or times when you do that? Maybe I’m just neurotic, lol. I also took naps both Saturday and Sunday. I feel so guilty when I do that, but it was nice. I especially like it because the cats will nap with me. I love it when they curl up next to me. It’s one of those simple pleasures I cherish (even if I do feel slightly guilty).

I also went to a new mediation group. After the meditation, we were asked to pass this baton and share our thoughts and experiences. Other than getting tired of hearing our instructor saying “Beautiful,” it was pretty interesting to hear the comments. Everyone except for one person was super positive and “Oh, it was so great and perfect!” I’m not doubting them, but I can’t say I’ve been to a class where everyone had a five-star, “textbook” meditation experience.

Of course, then there was me. 🙂 I went last, and I was honest in saying that this time my thoughts pretty much shut off. I explained that I’ve been under quite a bit of stress lately, and maybe my mind took it as a good time to get really, really quiet? To the point of shutting off? The look on the instructor’s face was so funny–I don’t think he was expecting anyone to say their thoughts shut off completely. I know it’s not unusual; everyone’s experience is different each time, but it still made me want to laugh.

Have a great week!

2 responses to “Basket lovin’

  1. Connie says:

    i’ve never heard of a medication class.. interesting

    • therosiebee says:

      It’s pretty cool. I preferred the one I went to last year, but this one was OK. We sat on pillows and got comfy. Then the instructor basically helped us “drop in” (his phrase) and calm our mind. Then we spent about 20 minutes centering and doing a guided meditation, with him giving instruction (“Let your mind go”, “Focus on your heart”, “Remember to breathe deeply”). After that, we spent about five minutes regrouping and then we passed the baton.

      I liked my other class better because each class we focused on one type of meditation: guided, chanting, using a singing bowl. I also liked the fact that afterward people seemed to be a bit more honest about their feelings (like, “It was so frustrating today!” or “Wow, I think I let go of a lot of anger”). Also my past instructor seemed to be really interested in what people were saying, and didn’t just mutter “Beautiful, beautiful.”

Leave a Reply

