The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thrifty Thursday – The Stole

on February 12, 2015

Today’s thrifting find comes from a teeny tiny little thrift shop with the most limited hours on the face of the earth. It’s in a small town where a lot of wealthy older women live (or at least donate their belongings). So while I’m not surprised to find fur coats and stoles there, I wasn’t quite expecting this:

Gross animal stole with fake eyes.

The eyes have it.

I’m not sure what kind of animal this is/was, but I know there are definitely two of them. The one is biting the other one (in the hind quarters, no less), so the stole is long enough to wrap around the neck. Or so I’m guessing, I wasn’t putting this thing on my neck. Not with the feet still attached and dangling. And check out the nose. It was flaky and almost crusted over. The ears were also very odd. Obviously, whoever “made” it took great care to add in some oh-so-realistic eyeballs. (Can you see me rolling mine?)

It was really strange to look at it and realize “These were two live animals at one point.”

Gross animal stole

Who on earth thought this was a good idea?

I’ve gotta be honest, this really grossed me out. I’m not against wearing leather. I know in some areas people wear fur for more or less practical reasons (e.g., living in sub-zero temps) instead of, say, throwing on the ol’ mink coat to go to the opera. But the idea of wearing two animal carcasses slung around my neck as a fashion statement gives me the heebie-jeebies. I mean, the foot pads were still there. The claws were still there. D:

Gross animal stole feet

Those feet…

This one stayed in the store.

2 responses to “Thrifty Thursday – The Stole

  1. Connie says:

    the only good thing I can say is “well at least they used the whole animal” It floors me that this used to be the height of fashion..

Leave a Reply

