The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thrifty Thursday – Tiki lamp

on February 19, 2015

This week’s find comes from my all-time favorite thrift store, which has now closed. (RIP Waukesha Salvation Army!) I am anxiously awaiting it to rise from the ashes like a phoenix. Well, it didn’t burn down; they lost their lease. Last I heard, they were looking for a new location. So stay tuned for more SA finds!

Until then, here are a couple pictures that made me tear up with nostalgia. I present to you, the Tiki Lamp!

thrift store tiki lamp

Perfect for your tiki lounge!

Thrift store tiki lamp view 2

Beautiful from all angles.

It’s pretty ugly, imo. I laughed when I first saw it. However, I do really dig the tiki lounge stuff. Growing up, I remember visiting some friends of my parents who had an awesome tiki lounge basement. They were such nice people. Margaret, the wife, would always tell me how she got my parents together. 🙂 They were so generous and kind and loved to socialize. My mom still has a lot of great black-and-white pictures from parties Margaret had when my parents were still dating. Such a blast from the past–the clothes, the tiki swag. It’s very cool.

I wonder who bought this lamp? And if they gave it a rightful place in a tiki lounge? Or if they thought it’d look great in their living room next to a giant tv. Hmm…

2 responses to “Thrifty Thursday – Tiki lamp

  1. Connie says:

    I found out recently that things that don’t sell in the goodwill stores go to the goodwill center where you are able to buy things by the pound or bag or what not.. and it is like pennies on the GW original dollar.. My mother got a chocolate fountain for a dollar..

    Then apparently after that it goes to the dump.

  2. Rene S says:

    I remember seeing that lamp! It was ugly, in a funky kind of way. i wonder where it is now?

Leave a Reply

