The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Wipe out!

on February 23, 2015
Sophie and G on down comforter.

Fluff: A study in black and white.

I have felt so wiped out lately. Work stress has me, well, stressed. Perhaps because of that I’ve been struggling to kick this low-grade cold once and for all. Good thing it’s Monday and I’ve decided enough is enough! It’s time to take the life by the horns and show it who’s boss (and use a lot of cliches, lol).

This weekend, though? The cats and I did a lot of chillin’. Thrifting, knitting, Downton Abbey. That’s what I call quality time.

Sophie and Grizzy on the down comforter

One of my most favorite pictures ever!

I took these pictures with my brand spankin’ new iPhone 6! That excitement was only for the sales associate who helped me. (“Aren’t you excited? I’m excited for you!”) I’m glad to have a functional phone, but I can’t say I get all that excited about dropping an insane amount of money for a phone. I was tempted to go the Trac Phone route, but I wasn’t ready to make the switch.

Selecting a phone was a two-day affair. I went in, stated what I wanted, and was shown a few options. I was so overwhelmed, and it was so stressful, that instead of making a decision, I had to go get a massage. (Just kidding, I had that scheduled for my birthday.) I came back the next day and Issac, the guy who helped me, was there again. At one point he said, “I was thinking about you last night–not in a creepy way–because you never came back.” I laughed out loud; I’m so glad he qualified that with the “not in a creepy way.” Ha.

I finally settled on a phone and he agreed it was a good choice for me. A few swipes of his tablet and heee-eey! It comes with an iPad mini! I felt like such a grandma because I kept reiterating that “it’s free, right?” He informed me that well, it wasn’t “free,” per se, but whether I got it or not, the price would still be the same. All right, however you want to slice it, it won’t cost me any extra, so I’ll take it. But what will I do with it? Yes, I actually asked that. I was told I could replace my old one.

Um, I don’t have an iPad. Or tablet of any kind.

Cue gasps from the staff. I joked that I was probably the only person in the States without an iPad. “Well, I gotta tell you, even these older folks that come in, they’ve got one…”. Keep in mind this all happened on my birthday. I officially Felt Old.

But overall, I have to say the service was great. They answered all my questions–and trust me, I had many; they were very nice, and they saved me some money after taking a bunch for the phone. That’s right, my bill is now lower courtesy of a work discount. I was mighty excited to hear about that!

And truly, I am very pleased with the quality of the pictures. Now I can fill my phone up with pictures of my small fries. 🙂


Thank you for all the birthday wishes. I had a lovely day. I had lunch with a friend of mine, started Lent, observed the new moon, and got a massage. I have some goals I’d like to work toward this year, one of which is to try and be grateful every day. I have a few more goals, but I’ll share those later. Suffice to say, I am grateful for my Sophie and Grizzy, and I am so grateful to have this outlet. And I am grateful for all you, too!

Have a wonderful week!

3 responses to “Wipe out!

  1. Don’t worry – I don’t have an iPad or a tablet, either. ❤

  2. Rene S says:

    You know I didn’t have an iPad either until Target had a screaming deal last Father’s Day. And I do like the camera on mine, so that’s a use for it.

  3. Connie says:

    if it makes you feel better (or older) I don’t have an ipad, but my father does..

Leave a Reply

