The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Hallway fun – with computer talk!

on February 27, 2015

Lately I’ve been letting the kitties out into the hallway a couple times a day. Usually first thing in the morning and before we go to bed. They seem to enjoy being able to burn off some energy doing sprints up and down the hallway, and up and down the stairs. Also: Wrestlemania, kitty-style. I tell them that one day they will have their very own hallway to run around in. It probably won’t happen for a couple more years, but I’m working on it. Slow and steady.

I want to remember some of the fun things they do when they’re out there. The carpet is berber, so they can really hook their claws into it.

Berber carpet wikipedia

Image credit: Wikipedia

Sophie especially loves this. As soon as I open my front door, she’ll take two steps and do the flop, so she lands on her side. This gives me a good chance to rub that floofy belly of hers. You can literally see how relaxed her body get; she is so blissed out–from that berber carpet!–as she reaches her front legs out in front of her. digs in her claws, and drags herself up along the carpet. She’ll do that at least three or four times, sometimes pulling her body in a half circle. It’s so funny!

Grizzy does this, too, only he’ll hook in his back legs and use that to propel himself forward. I guess it’s kind of like the cat-carpet version of rock climbing. I laugh every time because they seem so happy and it looks so silly. It’s the simple pleasures, right?


In other news, I’ve accepted the fact that it’s time for a new computer. After freaking out about having to buy a new cell phone (those suckers are expensive!), I’m now a bit more relaxed about buying a new computer. I guess the experience has broken me, haha. Really, though, my phone is so much faster and easier to use, plus it has a bigger screen (nice for me). And while I don’t use the phone for all that much, I am enjoying being able to download and listen to podcasts without issue. Makes my morning commute infinitely more tolerable. That alone is pretty much worth the price of admission.

The whole experience made me realize just how interminably slow my computer is. I thought I might be able to keep it through the end of the year, but it’s getting to the point where I don’t want to be on it because it’s soooo slooooow. While I hate the idea of switching before it’s officially dead, it’s becoming more of an issue. Plus, I’ve had it for a little over five years, so it’s been a good ride. Now I have to decide to I get another Dell? And how long should/can I wait?

I’ll have to sleep on it. πŸ™‚

Sophie and Grizzy passed out on the pink blanket.

They must sleep on things, too. πŸ™‚

One response to “Hallway fun – with computer talk!

  1. Connie says:

    It is coming upon the time that I’m ready for a new computer too. There really is nothing wrong with my laptop, but it is getting slower and slower to wake up.. and I want a tablet, but I want it to run flash.. and so I’m sitting here thinking about investing $500-700 dollars in something I absolutely do not need πŸ™‚

    Know that if you are going to wait to upgrade, you REALLY need to be doing regular back ups so if it crashes and dies, you have a back up copy.

Leave a Reply

