The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Hallway flops

on March 16, 2015

This week is the birthday girl’s week! I thought I’d start things off by showing her do her famous Hallway Flop.

Sophie flopping in the hallway

The flop

Sophie rolling in the hallway

Time to roll.

Sophie shows her tummy

You may now rub the kitteh belleh.

Sophie and Grizzy love exploring the hallway where I live. Nothing too crazy, just stretch their legs a bit. There is a ton more sun in the hallway, too, which they really like. It’s fun to watch them chill out.

Unfortunately, I think we need to put the kibosh on this for a time. I had a bit of a meeting with one of my neighbors this morning. I’ve heard things from her I didn’t like, but this morning I got an earful:

Was it me who is always shutting the basement door? It should be kept open! (Um, since when?) And do I know who propped the outside door open? That should always be kept shut! (Sigh.) Then I got an earful about the cats (alright, whatever). This was all peppered with colorful language, but the worst was when a particularly offensive term came out that had my mouth drop right open. You just don’t call people certain things. I was so stunned I literally didn’t know what to say. :/ And she’s complaining that the neighborhood is going downhill?!

Has anyone ever dealt with a situation like this before? It’s tough, because she’s not just an annoyance, she’s a bully. But there’s two of them and one of me. I don’t want to do anything that will get me and the cats booted, you know? Although this has brought me to a big decision: My upcoming lease is the last lease I will sign here. It’s not because of her, granted; it’s something I’ve been thinking about for a while. I’ve been feeling more and more ready to make the leap, interest rates are very low, I’ve found myself looking at places online, etc. This confrontation simply came after a long weekend of thinking about everything else, so it was almost like another little nudge.

So next summer, I plan to be looking to buy a place. It’s definitely do-able, and I know I could do it now, but the organizer in me likes the fact that I have a good year to save and plan, lol.

Here is to better things! And Sophie’s birthday on Wednesday! Don’t forget to check back on Wednesday for a chance to enter the birthday raffle. 🙂

4 responses to “Hallway flops

  1. Rene S says:

    There was a Ms. Nosey in the apartment building where I lived too. She was like Mrs. Cravitz from Bewitched–always looking out the window or trying to butt in to something. IMO I’d back off on the hallway visits and make sure to keep the right doors open/closed. Maybe you can take one or both on a trip to the pet store, or maybe on a leash just outside the patio door?

    • therosiebee says:

      A leash is a good idea, as is the pet store. This woman is just awful. I try to avoid her at all costs, but even if we bump into each other getting the mail she usually glares and complains about something.

  2. Connie says:

    would saying “well that’s a word that would get a celebrity fired” work?? I’m sorry your neighbors are being such a pain, but maybe just maybe they are the being that way to be the kick in the behind to get you to spread your wings 🙂

    (as for what Rene said, I’d so be the opposite.. I’d be opening doors they thought should be closed but never needed to before and closing doors they wanted open – since they never were before.. because I’m just that much of a redhead and it is passive aggressive enough to be something I could get away with)

    • therosiebee says:

      Well, instead of saying “This place is becoming a shantytown” she said “My god, this place is becoming [n-word] town.” Ironic, too, because while there are a lot of different ethnic groups here, we don’t have any African Americans. But I agree, this was a good kick in the pants. I’ve been thinking about buying for a while; this is a good time to ramp up my efforts to save up a down payment and find a place.

Leave a Reply

