The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Welcome to the sweltering season

on May 4, 2015
Grizzy Squirrel Rabbit

I love scenes like this…

Right now I rent and right now I am in the annual “three-months-of-hell” phase. See, my apartment has boiler heat. I asked it be turned off to my unit my first year there because it was August or September and 90-some degrees. I do not joke. They did and I haven’t had to turn on my heat a single time during the years I’ve been there, no matter how cold it is outside. That’s because the hallway is always hotter than blazes. I assume I get the heat from the hallway and the people around me.

I understand there is some schedule, so the heat doesn’t get turned off until some time in May. It’s then turned back in September. There is always a blissful two-week break where the weather is cool and I finally sleep. Then it goes into hyper-heat mode and I have to wait until October or November until I can sleep really well again. One of my neighbors asked if the maintenance people could turn off the heat, but they said they are bound to this schedule. Sigh.

My point to all this is I haven’t slept well the last two nights. I was almost in tears of frustration this morning over “How on earth can I handle this another year?” when I looked up and saw the scene above: Grizzy, a squirrel, and a rabbit. It really warmed my heart.

That said, I’m planning on staying there one more year so I could save up as close to 20% as possible for a down payment. Of course, I haven’t yet gotten my lease renewal. Depending on how much they increase my rent, maybe I’ll go to a month-to-month plan. Or maybe I’ll do one more year. I’m giving this serious thought because last year just about put me over the edge with the heat and the idea of going into another three months is making me anxious. I do have a wall ac unit, but it sounds like a freight train and it doesn’t circulate past the living room. (I live in a pretty old building, so the wall unit was retro-fitted.) The thing that works best, which is to say, not much, are fans. But even those do next to nothing, and I think I have a pretty high tolerance for stuff like this.

I’m going to a seminar next week held at my bank. This should help me plan, whether I decide to buy in 6 months, a year, or even 18 months. But I’m still looking for input on house versus condo, putting down less than 20% (since loan rates are so low, is it better to put down less than 20% to lock in a good rate?), etc.

Does anyone have any advice or pointers on preparing for buying a place? I would appreciate any input! 🙂

4 responses to “Welcome to the sweltering season

  1. Connie says:

    find out what you can afford before you look. do not go out of the budget. See if you qualify for any assistance out there as the government really wants you to be a home owner, there are often programs out there to hep you

  2. Rene S says:

    Think about what is important to you in a home, and what is less important. (ei, how many bathrooms can you live with?) See if there are any first-time home buyer’s incentives–there used to be some. Perhaps you can ask that at the seminar.

Leave a Reply

