The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

2015 MADACC Walk, Run, Wag fundraiser

on May 11, 2015

I hope all the mother out there had a lovely Mother’s Day! I celebrated with two moms–my sister and our mom–and my two furbabies. 🙂

Today I realized not only it is the 11th, but in two months to the day it will be Grizzy’s second Gotcha Day anniversary. I can hardly believe it’s been close to two years. It struck me the other day that I’ve been able to pick him up and carry him around. When I first adopted him, I could hold him for maybe .02 seconds before he did one of those huge kangaroo leaps out of my arms. When I first got him, he slept under the couch all the time. Now he still likes his under-the-couch naps, but most of the time my little snugglebug will be right by my side. His fur has gone to rough and thin to shiny and healthy. He is thriving and it’s all because the people at MADACC took him in and helped him find a forever home. I’m so lucky to have him, and I am forever thankful for the staff at MADACC.

(I should add, Sophie also started out at MADACC. She was there a short time and then transferred to the shelter where I adopted her.)

That’s why once again I will be participating in their annual Walk, Run, Wag fundraiser. I’ll be running the 5K. I won’t be running with a dog, but I will definitely enjoy seeing the pups and their humans who run the 5K with dogs!

Anyhow, I don’t usually fundraise like this. Typically I have a few charities that I give a lump sum to every year and then I have extras that I donate to throughout the year. But MADACC is very important to me and they do wonderful work. They care for more than 12,000 animals each year! I believe in their mission, which is why I started a fundraising page for the run. Donate if you like; please don’t feel pressured. I’ll be running either way and I am committed to my donation amount. 🙂

Thank you!

My MADACC fundraising page

One response to “2015 MADACC Walk, Run, Wag fundraiser

  1. rykmau says:

    Just made a donation to MADACC. It’s such a great cause and it’s a no-kill shelter.

Leave a Reply

