The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thrifty Thursday – “Carousel” dress

on June 11, 2015

OK, this dress isn’t from that movie, but whenever I wear it I feel like I should be in one of those 1950s summertime movies.

Pink flower carousel dress

It’s very early, can you tell?

It was very early when I took this pictures and I didn’t get a great night’s sleep. I tried to get a smiley pic just because:

carousel dress part two

Cheesy morning grin! No coffee required. No makeup, either. Yikes.

What I especially love the fact that the shoes, belt, and dress were all thrifted! The dress came with a pink ribbon sash but this morning I saw another blogger post a picture of a pastel dress with black shoes and belt. Since I don’t seem to be comfortable unless I’m wearing at least one black item, ta-da! I also liked that the belt and shoes match (both patent leather). And the shoes were brand new!

Outfit run-down

  • Belt: $1? (Probably 75 cents, actually)
  • Dress: $12 (This was definitely a splurge, but it’s lined and it was in like-new condition.)
  • Shoes: $3.50 (Brand new! <3)
  • The dress is a little big on the sides, but the belt helps with that. I figured for the very inexpensive price (retail I’d probably put it at around $75, given the brand), it doesn’t have to be a perfect fit. It’s ready-to-wear, anyhow. 🙂

    In cat news, it’s been hot and my two babies aren’t as active as normal. We’ve all been getting a lot of nap time in on those super-hot days. I also found the battery for my camera so I am going to try and take more pictures of them with that. Black cats + iPhone camera = fuzzy pictures. Heck, fuzzy pictures in general, as you can see from above.

    In techie news, I moved some files over to a permanent URL but…I need some help. But hey, one major step down! (I’m trying to teach myself more WordPress, CSS, and all that good stuff, so woo! Yay for summer goals.)

    In life news, some ups, some downs. But as a friend advised, “Ride the chaos!”

2 responses to “Thrifty Thursday – “Carousel” dress

  1. Connie says:

    that is a super cute dress! and you look really adorable in it!

  2. rene S says:

    What an awesome dress!–love it!

Leave a Reply

