The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Wonderful Wednesday

on June 24, 2015

Once again, I need something good to focus on and when Connie suggested a “Wonderful Wednesday” I knew I had just the story.

Last night I came home and opened my front door. One of the cats’ litter boxes is by the door, and I heard some scratching, so I left the door open slightly. A few seconds later he was still scratching, so I thought “Did he get stuck?”

Nope. It was a mouse. I admit, I did the “ayeee!” dance because there was so much commotion. Grizzy kept trying to drop it by my feet, the mouse would play dead for a second, then it’d bolt and Grizzy would grab it again. Wash, rinse, repeat.

I scrambled to find a towel big enough to cover the mouse and all I found were washcloths! (Note to self: Do laundry tonight.) I finally found a towel big enough to drop over the mouse…and then he wriggled out. Lordy. I believe he ran back out into the hallway but I’m not sure. All I know is Grizzy stayed on the scene pacing around for a bit, then chilled out there for a while, and then satisfied the mouse was gone, took a well-deserved nap:

Grizzy after mouse

Catching mice is hard work.

Grizzy out after mouse

So handsome!

I’ve two ideas how the mouse got in: 1) people have been propping the front and back doors open. Not much, but enough. It drives me nuts! (I think I’ll put up a sign, because it’s not safe but also bugs and other critters get in.) And 2) later I saw the screen in my bedroom had been popped open. The frame was never good, but it was mangled. I assume the mouse could have gotten in that way? I’m just so glad that neither of the cats go out!

The wonderful?

  • My Grizzy, the hunter and house protector! He was so proud after the mouse incident, strutting around and then laying out like, “Yeah, I’m the man(cat).”
  • Sophie has been the sweetest thing lately, comforting me when I’m stressing.
  • I love where I live. I know I said this yesterday, but I am grateful to have a solid roof over my head and a place that doesn’t mind cats! In fact, most of my neighbors really like Sophie and Grizzy. Lately I’ve been realizing how fortunate I am to have that.
  • Remember yesterday when I said there was one big not-so-great thing in my life that has to do with a place I go to every day? Well, there is also one equally wonderful thing that I am very thankful for: A family member who wasn’t in the greatest health, so to speak, has been doing really well.

    All wonderful things! I hope you all have equally wonderful Wednesdays.

    3 responses to “Wonderful Wednesday

    1. Eeeeeeek, a mouse! (We’re just quoting what Jan would be shrieking if we had a pet mouse.)

      You have a wonderful Wednesday too.

    2. Connie says:

      oh this post made me ridiculously happy.. and yes, I bet Gizzy was totally thinking he was the MAN!Cat.. 😉

      (you do know tomorrow is Thankful Thursday right?)

    3. rykmau says:

      OMG, I would have died if there was a mouse in my house. Tiny is not a good hunter. He can’t even catch or kill bugs. Grizz is such a good mouser. I’m glad he didn’t kill it or it would have been a bloody mess. The outside kitty loves tearing them apart.

    Leave a Reply

