The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thrifty Thursday – Velvet John (and a bonus Thankful Thursday)

on June 25, 2015

Oh, boy, am I ever glad it’s Thursday. That means two things: Thrifty Thursday and Thankful Thursday, both of which lift my spirits and need right now!

First, thankful Thursday:

  • I am so thankful that last night a neighbor informed me that my car alarm has been going off about 4-5 times a night for the last month or so. It’s an older car, so I’m sure it’s a short and the system can be disabled. I’m not happy I have one more unexpected thing to pay for, but I am happy he told me. After a month. (Really, I’m thankful! But…did he not think to put a note on my car, maybe after the first week of the annoyance? LOL!)
  • I’m also thankful that I was able to swap cars with my mom this morning. My mom has Sirius radio, which is fun. It was especially fun to hear Haim’s “The Wire” on the radio–something that never happens in normal radio. Good way to start the day!
  • And one final thankful bit, I’m thankful that this week is winding down. I try not to wish my days away, but this has been a busy, long week. I’m looking forward to the weekend, where I can paint my new furniture, chill out, and plan blog posts for July! (That’s right, I’ve got a calendar! I’m working ahead! I suppose I should add one more thankful bit: I’m thankful for hope, time management, and the chance to continually improve. 🙂 )

    Now, this Thrifty Thursday is a shout out to our friend Rene About the Cats, the Beatles fan. I think this is a picture of John Lennon? Maybe?

    John Lennon velvet painting

    John Lennon?

    This thing was HUGE. Probably 4″ high and 3″ across. I dig the galaxy behind him. Oh, did I mention it was painted on black velvet? Yes! Truly vintage art. I knew a treasure like this wouldn’t come cheap so I winced as I flipped it over to check out the price. What? Only $4.99! Score!

    Only $4.99

    Only $4.99!

    The thrifting gods have smiled up on me! Oh…wait…

    expensive velvet painting

    Wah, waaaahhh…

    Yep. Evidently some other shop (I’m thinking Goodwill–they used to do the wax-pencil pricing like that) didn’t see the true value in this painting and marked it a paltry $4.99. But the staff at St. Vincent de Paul, they knew a top-notch painting when they saw it and marked it up 10x. (Too bad they weren’t clever enough to put the sticker over the original price.) That was a little too rich for my blood, so it was with a heavy heart that I left what I thought of as “John on Velvet with a Groovy Galaxy” at the store for some art aficionado to take home and love.

    Note:That bit of dress and denim jacket you see in the picture? Both thrifted! Whee!

3 responses to “Thrifty Thursday – Velvet John (and a bonus Thankful Thursday)

  1. Ouch! Quite a difference in price. You seem to be quite a thrifty shopper.

  2. Connie says:

    I’ve made it a point to not wish away the day too, but I totally get wanting the weekend to be here

  3. Rene S says:

    I can’t tell if that’s John Lennon or maybe Janis Joplin? Is that a piano leg next to the galaxy? Boy that is freaky.

Leave a Reply

