The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Word-full Wednesday

on July 8, 2015
cats birds and rabbits oh my

Typical weekend morning.

This is a pretty typical weekend for us. I putter around the house while the cats watch the animals on the patio. It’s actually really nice; I’ve been trying to slow down (hahaha) and appreciate little things like that more. Lately when I walk I’ve been noticing wildflowers and the like and I’ve caught myself thinking “Where were the last year?” Obviously they were there, I simply didn’t notice. I’m glad I’m noticing now.

This reminds me of a question I was asked yesterday*: When are you happiest? I was honest and explained that I’ve been trying to practice gratitude all day long. I wake up and I list off three things that I’m thankful for, I go to bed and list off three things for which I’m thankful. I could almost see the person who asked rolling his eyes, but it’s true. Frankly, I’m not sure what kind of answer he was expecting: “Ah, 5 o’clock on Friday when I’m home drinking a beer?” Seriously! I suppose I could say when I’m with my cats, when I’m refinishing furniture, when I am puttering around a thrift store with a friend…but something tells me he wouldn’t have gone for that, either. Don’t you love it when people ask questions not to learn about you but rather to show how smart and/or cool they are?

The past few months I’ve been very aware of how fragile life is and how quickly things can change for both the better and the worse. I imagine that’s why I’m trying to make a consistent effort to appreciate what I have, to practice gratitude, and to choose happiness, as tough as that may be at times!

Now watch, I’ll be super crabby in a few hours, hahaha. 🙂

*Thank you for your good thoughts yesterday for my little meeting! I’m very happy with how things went on my end. I don’t think it would be the right opportunity for various reasons, but I’m very pleased with how I presented myself and I’m glad I had the chance to check it out.

3 responses to “Word-full Wednesday

  1. Connie says:

    BUNNY! wait.. did you say something?

    *scrolls back up but tries not to get distracted by the bunny again*

    watching kittens eat makes me happy..

  2. Rene S says:

    That is an interesting question, and it obviously has you thinking about happiness, which is a good thing.

  3. rykmau says:

    Knowing my furkits are safe, healthy and happy makes me happy. They give me a reason to wake up every morning.

Leave a Reply

