The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thrifty Thursday – Boardwalk Empire

on July 9, 2015

Okay, maybe it’s more like inspired by Boardwalk Empire, but still! I love it. I meant to blog about this several weeks ago, even before May 20th–that was the day I cropped it on my phone–but it got lost in the shuffle. I’m too lazy to trim off the Verizon ad, so please ignore that.

This is one of my favorite outfits ever because everything (aside from tights and undergarments) was thrifted!

Sweater, necklace, dress, all thrifted!

Sweater, necklace, dress, all thrifted!

knee-length dress

A better look at the length. It hits just below my knees.

I really did have a picture of my shoes and tights, but I can’t find that picture. Because I love you guys, I tried to recreate it in my own bathroom, sans tights:

1920s shoes v1

The view I have.

1920s shoes

Tres cute, no?

The shoes are Aerosoles and super comfy. I almost didn’t buy them because I wasn’t sure if they were cute. Did I mention they were like-new and only $6? (Sometimes I think I check my brains at the door when I enter a thrift store. I’m telling you, those stores are intoxicating, har, har.)

The dress was probably $6, the necklace was only $5 and found at a flea market, and the sweater was $6-7 simply because it’s Banana Republic. (Goodwill marks up premium brands regardless of their quality.) That’s not a bad price for an entire outfit!


Some notes:

  • How do you like my RBF? HA! I recently found out about that term and it makes me laugh because it’s so flipping ridiculous. Can you imagine a man ever coming up with that? Maybe theirs would be “resting bro face.”
  • I also think “Dang, I look relatively young!” Not that I’m super old, but as I mentioned the other day, I’ve been very aware of time passing lately. I think learning about a former friend dying really got me on that track. Anyhow, I’m not ruing the fact that I’m not longer 20, but it’s definitely interesting to see the changes. Like the inescapable grey hairs. 🙂
  • Recently I heard a catchy song on the radio with lyrics that sounds like “I can’t feel my face when I’m with you.” The almighty Google confirmed that yep, that’s what they’re singing about, and some astute commenter said, “The song is about drugs.” I have to laugh because what are the other options? Singing about being the freezing cold where the wind numbs your face?I do like the song, it’s pretty catchy, but I have to admit I feel a little silly belting out how “I can’t feel my face” when I am driving around.
2 responses to “Thrifty Thursday – Boardwalk Empire

  1. Connie says:

    well aren’t you more adorable than those shoes!! 🙂

  2. Rene S says:

    Dang you look good! And you look super for your age!

Leave a Reply

