The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thrifty Throwback Thursday – The Camera

on September 17, 2015
vintage 110 point and shoot camera

“Vintage” 110, hehe.

As I started typing this I thought “I should have bought this and put it on Etsy and alled it ‘vintage’ and see who would pay for it.” A quick search pulled up cameras ranging from $25-33, all labeled “vintage.” It still makes me giggle because I remember using one of these 110 cameras. Am I old enough that something I used in my lifetime is now vintage?

This seemed to be in good condition. I even tested that little thing you pushed to advance the film. It made that satisfying “scritch, scritch, scritch” sound. 🙂 Do you remember when the 110s went reeeally tiny? Where they were about 3-4 inches and basically covered the film cartridge? You could easily stash them in your pocket. I think they used to come in cereal boxes as a cheapie giveaway. Oh, how the times have changed.

Back of vintage 110 point and shoot camera

It was so easy to pop in a cartridge and snap away…

Looking at these cameras does bring up great memories, though. I think of trips to Six Flags amusement parks, sleepovers and grade-school parties, and just random point-and-shoot moments. I loved going to Walgreens or F&M or wherever you got you pictures developed. The wait was more exciting than annoying, because you were so curious to see if the pictures turned out. What memories would be captured and then put into photo albums as a keepsake. (Photo albums…how many people use those these days?)

I do enjoy the instant gratification of digital cameras, but there is something cool and fun and easier, I guess, about the days of 110 cameras and developing the pictures. Life moved slower then and sometimes I miss it. Funny how a thrift shop find can bring up such good memories.

2 responses to “Thrifty Throwback Thursday – The Camera

  1. Connie says:

    I, um.. well yeah.. I still own one. Every time I look at it it makes me smile.

  2. Rene S says:

    I remember those! Do you remember the cameras that have the film “disks”? I have a friend who had one of those and I thought it was so cool at the time.

Leave a Reply

