The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Christmas is in the air (and in the blankets)

on November 30, 2015

I brought out my Christmas decorations this weekend. The furkids made made quick work of breaking in the seasonal blankets. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sophie and G on gingerbread blankets

I think the blankets get their approval.

I hope you all had a lovely Thanksgiving. This is the second year that some family members and I woke up at an ungodly hour on a holiday and went for a run. We did the Drumstick Dash (“move your feet so others can eat”). It was a lot of fun; great weather, great crowd, great cause. I was super excited because my race time was exactly 30 minutes, meaning I averaged a hair under 10 minutes per mile. I haven’t done this in years (and about 30 pounds), which was cool. My goal is to run a sub-30 mile without dying. It’s definitely attainable!

The other cool thing was I felt really good the entire run. I was running at a comfortable pace without killing myself. Not that I set out to feel horrible during runs, but I’ve noticed a sort-of crossover point, where the runs generally feel pretty good and I start to think “Maybe I should up my regular runs to 4 miles.” Then I realize I must be high and stick to my 5K runs.

The end of the Drumstick Dash tripped me up a bit, though. You go around this turn and think “Oh, goodie, the end is right here, I’ll dig deep and muster up energy for a good kick.” You start amping up your speed and about two seconds later you see runners looping around another corner, meaning you’ve got three times as far to go! Yeah. I remember cursing and looking up to see some spectators looking at me and thinking you don’t need to be a lip reader to have a pretty good idea of what I said. It wasn’t the worst thing, but it wasn’t exactly polite. At least it made me laugh.

Enjoy the lat day of November!

2 responses to “Christmas is in the air (and in the blankets)

  1. Rene S says:

    Congrats on your successful run!

  2. Connie says:

    congrats on even attempting it, let alone it being a success.. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

