The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thrifty Thursday: Santa shirts!

on December 3, 2015

I’ve said it before, but you can find such great practical stuff at thrift stores. Things you’ll actually use more than you think, like workout gear. Sometimes if you’re lucky, you even find items that work double-duty, like a Santa-print running shirt for a holiday run! 🙂

JBR 2015

Flossin’ and stunning in my thrift store threads.

This shirt is especially great because it’s made of a light wicking material. The run was in November, but it was hot. I passed a mom and her son and the mom was insisting the boy “Drink this water now, I don’t need you to have heatstroke!” I don’t know that it was quite that hot, but it was unseasonably warm. I could have comfortably run in shirts and a t-shirt, to be honest. During the run I was sweating plenty but this shirt kept me relatively cool and didn’t stick to me, thanks to the wicking material. Another thrift store win for maybe $4.


In other news, this was my first attempt at Photoshop! Yay! I didn’t do anything to me; I just blocked out the license plate, cropped it, and added some text. I’m trying to get more familiar with Photoshop and Illustrator, so be on the lookout for new and exciting experiments coming here soon. Haha.

Anyhow, this picture got me thinking. Let me backtrack. This past weekend I was digging through old photos and it was very strange and even sad because I looked at some photos and thought, “Wow, I thought I was ugly/heavy/not good enough” and a whole mess of other negative things, which frankly weren’t true. I was young, physically healthy, and had no basis for feeling those things. It upset me that I felt so bad about myself and directed all those negative thoughts inward. So when I saw the picture above, a part of me started to have that knee-jerk reaction of “I should be/look/have…”. Then I decided screw that. I don’t want to see “Oh, my thighs are too big” or “OMG wrinkles.” I want to look and see the positives. I don’t want to beat myself for not being Photoshop perfect because really, no one is. And even if they were, too bad, so sad.

In this picture, I just finished a 5K and I felt great. I see a body that just carried me through a 3.1-mile run. This picture reminds me that I have mind that keeps me focused when I think “I’m too old for this” and want to quit. I also see a pretty stellar thrift-store shirt and a cup of coffee, which explains the silly grin on my face.

I also see what a gorgeous day it was! I don’t often get down to the lakefront, but gosh, it really is pretty.

Anyhow. That’s what I want to see when I see myself in pictures* – and I hope you see the good when you look at pictures of yourself, too. 🙂

*At least the good ones, haha. My brother played paparazzi during the race and he got an extreme close-up of me mid-race that I’m keeping under wraps! But at least I can laugh at it.

3 responses to “Thrifty Thursday: Santa shirts!

  1. Rene S says:

    You look GREAT in that shot! We are our own worst critics. . .

  2. Connie says:

    Yup, photos of my 16 yr old self make me lament and wish I had a time machine to go back and give her a hug.. she was so awesome, but so many people in her life were telling her she was fat and didn’t measure up for that reason.. (fyi, I was 5′ 7″ and was about 160 lbs back then.. so yeah, totally NOT fat.. )

    • therosiebee says:

      That was totally me and my story. I think, well, I *know* that caused years of disordered eating and body image issues, and who knows what damage that did to me physically? Right now I’m trying to focus on intuitive eating (and intuitive exercise), because I realized I got to the point where I didn’t know what my body wanted or needed, and I was scared to trust myself. Talk about massive anxiety. It’s a process, but it’s a good learning experience, “unlearning” all the things I was told…

Leave a Reply

