The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Word-full Wednesday: 2016, the Year I Learn to Chill

on January 6, 2016
Sophie and G kitties on bed

Chillin’ in the New Year

Today is Word-full Wednesday!

One of my 2016 goals was daily meditation. I’ve started small, five minutes a day, but already I can tell a big difference. Maybe it’s the meditation that’s caused me to re-evaluate my 2016 list, or maybe it’s simply been relaxing with the kitties and truly being in the moment and enjoying it. Maybe it’s watching A Chef’s Life and the small-town life it portrays. Whatever it was, suddenly everything I set for 2016 felt too much like a workplace SMART goal. After one meditation session (haha, a lengthy five-minute “session”) I noticed how calm I felt and I realized, “This is what I want!”

This year what I really want is a sense of peace and balance for once in my life. Last year I felt like fear drove so many decisions, and I felt like I was so reactive. It’s no surprise I ended up in some incredibly stressful situations and with anxiety that was pretty much a constant companion.

This year, I want to chill the heck out. I don’t want to be so driven by fear. I want to be thoughtful in my actions and take measured risks now and then, but I don’t want to jump (or freeze) due to fear. I want to be more thoughtful in how I spend my time and what I put in my body. I want to care less what people think and more of what is right for me in decisions affecting my life.

I know life always happens and things come up, but I think if I focus on keeping a sense of peace and balance, I’ll be better able to react to these things, mentally, emotionally, and physically. Because really, who knows what 2016 will bring? Dun-dun-DUN!

That’s enough navel-gazing for one year, right? 😉 In short, less stress, more kittehs.

One response to “Word-full Wednesday: 2016, the Year I Learn to Chill

  1. Connie says:

    You need to paint “chill the heck out” on the back of your front door (or whichever door you use most frequently) 🙂

Leave a Reply

