The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thrifty Thursday: The sleepover

on December 15, 2016

Did you know you can find patterns at thrift stores? I knew there were usually craft stashes–fabric, yarn, ribbons–but I’m a little embarrassed to admit until fairly recently I didn’t realize you could often find a wealth of patterns! Some really fun ones, too.

Check out this beaut:

All set for the guys-only slumber party! Men's nightgown patterns

All set for the guys-only slumber party!

There’s a lot I really like about this, but I have to start out with the giggly stuff:

  • I imagine they are…oh, heck, I was going to say a slumber party but that’s just…where they heck are they? Are they going to tuck into twin beds with scratchy Army blankets? LOL
  • The guy in the middle, in the light blue. Is that a pseudo-pimp cane he’s kind of leaning on? Is it the top of a (very low) bannister? Is it the Leaning Tower of Pisa?
  • The guy to the right of him, in the navy blue print holding the alarm clock. “We’re all set to wake up bright and early!”
  • Then whoa, hold up! Here comes Jaunty Joe in a bright red nightshirt. “Hold up, boys, I just had to slip into my PJs and get my pipe. Now I’m ready for bed.”On a serious note, I love the retro-ness of this. It reminds me of movies like “White Christmas,” where everyone, even the men, wore impeccably tailored clothing. I’m not sure it’s 100% functional for most people’s lives, but it sure looks cool.

    I am finding myself more and more taken by the retro aesthetic. The details were so interesting. Even the “cheesy” things are cool to check out now. It makes me think of my parents and grandparents smiling as they recounted “the good” music and traditions that were big when they were younger. Am I turning into them? If I am, I don’t think that’s such a bad thing. 🙂

2 responses to “Thrifty Thursday: The sleepover

  1. Connie says:

    you really do have to wonder what they were thinking when they were designing this..

  2. We want to wish you a Merry Christmas! And Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

