The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Thankful Thursday: Ode to an apartment

on February 9, 2017

First off, I am thankful that I am finally starting to feel better! It’s taken two rounds of antibiotics (and I haven’t taken antibiotics in years) and countless decongestants but I finally feel like I’m over the hump. It’s nice.

Second, and more importantly, I’m thankful for these two small fries.

Sophiekitty and Grizzy on the couch

Evening catnaps.

Last night we had a quiet evening at home and I was so tickled that they both got up on the couch to be close to me. It was so relaxing.

Times like these are especially precious to me because I know moving is in my fairly near future. I’m not sure if I’ll sign one more short-term lease or not, but I am 98% certain I won’t be there another full year. It’s tough, because I absolutely love where I live but for a few reasons, it’s time to move on. I never quite understood how people on HGTV got so attached to their homes. More than that, I’ve had friends sell their homes because they wanted/need more space, a better location, etc., etc. Point is, they wanted out of their homes and right away, yet when push came to shove they had such an attachment to it. Like, whaaa? I thought you couldn’t wait to get out of your house!

I need to write a longer post on this (I’m still catching up on everything from being sick), but suffice to say, I will miss my place when I move. Sometimes I wish for a little more light, sometimes I wish for a little more kitchen storage space, sometimes I wish for a little less heat and a little more moisture. But overall, I’ve been so happy there and now I’m starting to tear up a bit thinking about what this space has meant to me, not so much materially, but personally and what having my own space has done for me. A space where I was able to grow and become independent and decide what I wanted – and want – out of my life. A space where I could have my own little family with my kitties…first Rosie, then Sophie and Grizzy. A space where so many days I’ve woken up and thought “I’m so happy to be here.”

I’ve definitely been blessed.

4 responses to “Thankful Thursday: Ode to an apartment

  1. 15andmeowing says:

    Glad you are feeling better. Very sweet kitties.

  2. Connie says:

    I’ve moved more times than I care to count. I always hate leaving a place and it takes me way too long to settle in the new one (this house took years before it felt like home) but once it has my energy I’m loathed to go through that again. It isn’t that I don’t want to leave the house, just re-energize the new one.

  3. Glad you are doing better. No fun to be sick! Humans can be conflicted about their home. When you’re ready to move. we hope you will find exactly what you want/need.

  4. Rene S says:

    It is sad that you will have to move, but perhaps the move will be a good one.

Leave a Reply

