The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Two-fur Tuesday: The hallway

on February 28, 2017

A little two-fur Tuesday!

griz and sophiekitty Chillin' in the hallway

Chillin’ and surveying their kitty kingdom (aka, the outer hallway).

griz and sophiekitty Chillin' in the hallway2

View from my doorway.

One of the tinies* favorite things to do is hang out in the hallway. I am lucky to live in a place where most people are OK with my cats getting a little exercise and fresh air, if you will, with me supervising them. They usually bolt inside when a door opens, but there is one door (not the one pictured) and family that they are used to. It’s the unit/family with Sophie’s favorite doormat. She always wants to get inside but suffice to say, that’s not gonna happen. πŸ™‚

I think it’s so funny how they’ll cry to go out there and then they just lay down and chill. I imagine they are surveying their extended kingdom? I seriously think of big cats in the African veldt. It makes me smile.

Looking at these pictures also makes me feel a bit melancholy. I will be leaving this place in the near-ish future, probably by the end of summer. Maybe not that near, but considering tomorrow is March…

Truthfully, I never expected to be here so long. I figured I’d buy a condo at some point, and while I did look into it, it never felt like the right time. Plus, up until last year my rent was very, very reasonable, especially considering the amenities and location. In a way, it breaks my heart to leave but I suppose that’s when I need to think of all the memories made here. I also suppose it will help if I think of the summer heat. My place is like an oven come June, July, and August. πŸ™‚

It’s time to move on. For what my rent has been increasing to, it makes more sense to buy. (I don’t plan on buying anything this year, but plans are in the works to do so in the next year or two.)

I’m the tenant with the most seniority; I’ve seen some units have four–possibly more–tenants. The door Sophie and G are in front of? New folks are moving in next month–that will be *at least* the fourth time it’s been rented. People move in, people move on. And really, a home is where family is. So long as my small fries are with me, I think I can make most any place a home.

Thank you for indulging me in my little spurts of introspection! It’s definitely a process, one I didn’t expect to go through. I guess once you live in a place a while, it grows on you.

*I seem to have a few nicknames to describe the kitties: “tinies,” or “the tinies,” “small fries,” “babies,” “baby honeys,” etc.

4 responses to “Two-fur Tuesday: The hallway

  1. Yes, rents just keep going up and up, don’t they! I know you’re thankful your kitties can stay with you. So many places don’t allow pets. I’m grateful to have mine.

  2. Connie says:

    so where will you go between where you are now and what you are going to buy?

    • therosiebee says:

      The plan is for me and my fella to move in together. We’ve been chatting about it for a while and it seems like a good move. I think we’re both ready for it. Plus, he is a fan of the kitties and they like him, so whew. πŸ™‚

  3. Rene S says:

    It is unfortunate that you are essentially being “pushed out” by the increasing rent and prices.

Leave a Reply

