The Rosie Bee

Starring Grizzy and Sophie

Half marathon training woes

on August 22, 2017

I’m training for my first half marathon. I’m loosely following a training schedule; this week I’m up to nine miles.

Last night I was not in the best mindset. It was hot and muggy outside and I’d had a bit too much coffee. Still, I decided to go out for a run. I didn’t feel super great at first, but I kept thinking about the endpoint–how good I’d feel when I was done. Envisioning that goal helped a lot! After a point, I thought the run felt pretty good. I was going at a slightly faster-than-usual pace but it felt comfortable.

Then I hit the last couple miles and everything hurt. I mean everything. Suddenly my back ached, which was just plain weird. I tried to drink some water but I wasn’t thirsty. I slowed down to a walk. It was really disheartening.

I think I walked about a half mile total, maybe a smidge more. It was getting late and I knew I had some energy left. And that’s really the thing–I felt like I had energy, and my mind was ready to go, but when my mind said “OK, body, let’s run!” my body did the equivalent of a dog who doesn’t want to walk anymore: It calmly shut down.

I was so frustrated. When I got home, I did see the humidity was 95%. I imagine that had something do with my body hitting a wall.

It’s still really weird and scary and kind of exciting to think I’ll be running a half marathon in basically a month and 10 days. My goal is to run the whole thing and slow down when I need to. (Keep in mind I am NOT a fast runner by any means.) Here’s to a decent run!


In other news, I’m still working on cleaning everything up (obviously). These two small fries like to watch. 🙂

Sophie and Grizzy on bed full of messy clothes

Don’t mind us, Momma…

I know I need and want to do a deep clean; literally, sort through everything. Viewed like that, it’s overwhelming. Even viewing it on a room-by-room basis is overwhelming. That’s why I’ve decided to break it down into parts within the room. Ergo, the spare bedroom will be:

  • bookshelf
  • filing cabinet
  • desk
  • closet
  • dresser top
  • dresser drawers

    Maybe I can knock out one in an evening, or a weekend (like the closet and dresser). We’ll see how that works out. Sometimes if I write this stuff out, it helps it become a true action item for me. Fingers crossed!

    2 responses to “Half marathon training woes

    1. I think having good runs and some bad runs is what training is all about. Great that you are physically and mentally pushing through. Good luck with the rest of your training!!

    2. are you keeping up on your electrolytes?

    Leave a Reply

